You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Competition Season and Some Thoughts on Being a New Blue

in #jiujitsu6 years ago

Fun post! I enjoy learning about your hobby - it's not something I can do myself, but I can appreciate the discipline in your training and know it helps make you a good person.

I found you thanks to @dollarsandsense's Pay it Forward curation contest entry. Keep up the excellent work!

Sort:  

I wouldn't be so quick to doubt yourself. BJJ can be for everyone regardless of physical ability. It was developed specifically so a smaller and weaker opponent could not only survive an attack but come out on top. Grand Master Helio Gracie was well into his 90s, could barely do a pull-up, and was still tapping guys out half his age and twice his size. Finding the right school that can work with you is important though. Some places emphasize competition and may not have a welcoming environment for people who don't want to compete. Try to find an academy that focuses on self-defense and I'm willing to bet they'll be very accommodating. It's a great activity for kids to get into too!

I'd love to do tai chi, actually - it's something that I don't have to think about an opponent, just developing myself - at least, that's my impression based on a single lesson, lol. Unfortunately, it's beyond our financial means to be sure. Hopefully, at some point...

Tai Chi is actually quite good if you're not into getting all bruised up. My little brother takes it because he has a connective tissue disorder that cause him a lot of joint discomfort.