Company policy stopped me from getting a hike in pay

in #job-hike7 years ago

I work for a computer giant. I work in a team of 2. Today my manager pinged me and told me that there was something he needed to talk to me about. And it turned out that a company policy made amendments to salaries of people joining the company after a particular day and hence my teammate who is less experienced and new to this company is going to end up getting a big hike and a salary more than me

I couldn't believe what he said. But then I got to know it's true from my coworkers. I handled the situation with grace. I told my manager, " There is always a next time. And when you get a next chance remember that I wasn't given a hike. " He just tapped me on my shoulder and said " That's graceful and great attitude ! " I don't know if I could or should have done something else. What do you suggest guys ??

Sort:  

That happen to alot of people in my industry too. Those who just join and less senior would probably get higher paid than those have been long and more experienced. Personally if you feel this could not solved emotionally, it is also good to look for new job outside. If you can settle it emotionally, then stay wont be a bad choice.

But that is sad when it happens. Like will not be prepared to accept it most of the time. Atleast I wasn't :)

Yes, there is always a next chance. But, It is better to find the opportunities outside too :-)