Working Holiday #108 - Fitting the Insulation

in #job6 years ago

A very itchy task!

To describe it quickly, the main tasks of plasterers consist of building up the ceiling, fitting insulation in between and last but not least to screw of the plasterboards… Since I started working for that company, I just carried plasterboards from the loading ramp to the cinema halls and had a few days working on the scaffold. The longer I worked there, the more different tasks i got and one of them was doing the insulation. I had some bad memories about insulation, last time when I had to work with that material my whole body was itching  and a simple shower wouldn't help. So it didn't make me happy to hear about my new task, but what should I do, complaining is no option. I was doing the same thing all day long, from 6:30am to 5pm and of course my skin was very irritated and itchy afterwards! The next day I got the honour to do the same thing, just with another cinema hall. My colleague Clint and me got ready this time, we asked for dust masks and they gave us protection suits. Additional to that I bought some baby powder and covered my whole skin with it. The powder closes pores so the fine glass fiber material doesn't stick to your skin as easy. You can use coconut oil as well, it really helps! 

I hate it but it needs to get done too, luckily it was the last time they asked me to do the insulation because I’m not sure if I would have done it again…

Sort:  

Itchiness means allergies, doesn't it?
Better be prepared for it.

That's right, friend, working hard as it should be!