Snow Day!

in #journal4 years ago

snowday.jpg
After having what I jokingly call a "Hawaiian Christmas" (it was 70 degrees F...!), we had our first actual snow day of the season. I had to be at work by eight this morning and I knew at 4:30, that was going to be a resounding "no" as I walk out to see snowflakes flying through the air like dandruff. Since my car was unable to get out and hence not make the 15 mile drive to work...I decided to go through the many givens of a snow day...Crock Pot turned on with some chili, Netflix as background noise...and of course, flipping through the likes of Steemit and Publish0x to enjoy some articles.

And then boom...I learn of a coin called Banano - obviously, a fork of Nano. I read the website from top to bottom, full of smiles and chuckling as I down a cup of black coffee and decide to say "You know what? Fuck it. I'll earn some of this!". So, I looked into this folding@home deal - I have read about it before and find it to be a very fascinating project...but if I let my desktop run the f@h program, I will get rewarded with a set amount of Banano...I donate a little power to help a good cause and I get a nice, potassium packed reward? SIGN. ME. UP.

Other than that, it has been a pretty lazy day that is not going to result in breaking any records on Actifit today (lol). The highlight of this snow day is getting to enjoy some family time playing some Roblox with my wife and daughter - as we try to trade and raise virtual pets...which makes me nostalgic for the late 90's when I was hoarding Tamagotchi's, Digipets, Nanopets and even Furbies...

Hope everyone is having a great day. Love you all.