I Won a Thing and Took a Crazy Journey | And Butterflies

in #journey5 years ago

I Won a Thing and Took a Crazy Journey | And Butterflies


It's hard to build things. It's easier to lose them. Everyone knows this.Everyone's been taught this; everyone's experienced this. What we don't know, however, is that there is an exception. There is something so beautiful and so transcendent, it defies and defines every other thing. It defies common sense, it defies unorthodoxy, it, in short, defies and defines all senses.

That thing is faith.

It's quite easy to have faith, see, not only because most times it's thrusted upon us without our consent, but also because it is a dire neccesity. To survive, to perish, to move, to remain still, to go crazy, to retain sanity -- one must have faith.

And once you have it, though, unlike every other thing, it is damn hard to lose. But I did. I lost faith - in everything.

2FFvzA2zeqoVJ2SVhDmmumdPfnVEcahMce9nMwwksSDdRvaBf9hWyYrMJAnei6qDBQVZqyF7ALRTVCLNATWv2t73iC3FikDf9jCqjwiMH1k9AP1FiM57obtEod8Y6.jpg

Forgive the melodramatic introduction. See the thing is I just won a thing. A thousand-dollars worth of "thing". Which is crazy and mind-blowing and ineffable and unbelievable and a million other adjectives. But yes, I did win a thing; a big thing, and it's changed my life.

Not, however, for the reasons I thought.

Of course when you win a thousand dollars worth of "thing" you know for a fact that your life has changed. You don't know the magnitude of this change. You don't know how true it is. Among other things you don't even know that it's real.

But this - this turned out to be very real. And it did change my life. But not how I had thought. I have a thousand dollars more "things", see, but what I got was a lot more.

2FFvzA2zeqoVJ2SVhDmmumdPfnVEcahMce9nMwwksSDdRvaBf9hWyYrMJAnei6qDBQVZqyF7ALRTVCLNATWv2t73iC3FikDf9jCqjwiMH1k9AP1FiM57obtEod8Y6.jpg

The most important thing is people. I've always known this: that the most important thing is people. In case I wasn't being unequivocal enough, people are the absolutely, utterly, most important thing. And I've always known this.

Which is why it hurt so badly when people show, consciously or unconsciously, that they don't deserve this importance.

To be honest I don't like people very much. I don't do well with strangers. I don't talk much either, which I think is because I love writing so much, and Hemingway said -- rightly I think -- that writers oughtn't to talk much.

I eschew gatherings and I hate it when people don't like me -- even though I always understand how and why. It's funny because I do know people. I do. I know people. Or at any rate I know my people. I know people who are from where I'm from. I can tell what motivates them.

I did, in fact, during this brilliant just-concluded journey of mine, conjure up a rather peculiar dialogue in my mind. It is two people talking, a young man, and an older one. The younger one says to the elder:

-- But I do - I do know them.

And the elder says to the young one:

-- You claim to know them but you never speak to them. You never hear them when they speak and you never walk among them.

And the boy replies, visibly hurt and languid, that Once you know them like I do, you never want to get to know them. Or speak to them or walk among them etc.

2FFvzA2zeqoVJ2SVhDmmumdPfnVEcahMce9nMwwksSDdRvaBf9hWyYrMJAnei6qDBQVZqyF7ALRTVCLNATWv2t73iC3FikDf9jCqjwiMH1k9AP1FiM57obtEod8Y6.jpg

I'm tergiversating and writing more than I should.

2FFvzA2zeqoVJ2SVhDmmumdPfnVEcahMce9nMwwksSDdRvaBf9hWyYrMJAnei6qDBQVZqyF7ALRTVCLNATWv2t73iC3FikDf9jCqjwiMH1k9AP1FiM57obtEod8Y6.jpg

The crux of the matter is that I had lost faith. Faith in myself. Faith in writing. And most importantly faith in people.

I was born with faith in people. But yes I lost it -- quite a while ago. But now I have it back. Thanks to this thing I won. I got to meet people, you see. Great people, who were great not for their statute, or their size, or even their brains. People who were great for their hearts. People whom I never knew -- or rather whom I did suspect to know but was never certain of their existence. People, in short, who were real.

Take that word for whatever you want to take it for.

But yes, I did win a thing. A brilliant, unbelievable thing. And at first I thought I found hope, but what I got was faith. So for now I'll go back to my shadow -- which I love very much -- and enjoy just how vivid and more resplendent it's become.

2FFvzA2zeqoVJ2SVhDmmumdPfnVEcahMce9nMwwksSDdRvaBf9hWyYrMJAnei6qDBQVZqyF7ALRTVCLNATWv2t73iC3FikDf9jCqjwiMH1k9AP1FiM57obtEod8Y6.jpg

Until later I say have a nice day and steem the fuck on!

Sort:  

Hey, @rasamuel.

That sounds like quite the journey, but I'm glad you're back to having faith again, for all the reasons you describe, and more.

And it's funny, how something materialistic, when freely given and freely received, can have a life altering effect. Usually such things aren't highly looked upon, but there are cases, like this one, where they definitely have value beyond their worth.

I understand wanting to be alone, writing. That's been me most of my life. Kind of hard to do when you also want to get married and raise a family, so I'm constantly striking a balance there, but still, I have plenty of time to myself, as probably evidenced by how much time I spend here. :)

Onward and upward.

Thank you so much, Glen! Sorry for the late reply. It's been a terribly busy couple of weeks for me and I haven't been able to get on steemit.

And it's funny, how something materialistic, when freely given and freely received, can have a life altering effect. Usually such things aren't highly looked upon, but there are cases, like this one, where they definitely have value beyond their worth.

Exactly. Most times tangible things are the path to more ethereal ones. I'm glad you're doing great with striking balances. I'm still trying to figure that out LOL.

Thanks again for stopping by. And how about that ENDGAME!? Would really love to hear your thoughts on it!

Hey, @rasamuel.

re: Endgame

I haven't seen it yet. Probably the only one on the planet who hasn't. :) Both my sons have seen it and they can't wait to talk to me about it, but I'm not sure exactly when I'll be going. Kind of waiting on my wife's schedule to open up, since she would like to go, too.

We'll definitely have to talk when I have, though. Until then, I'm doing my best to be spoiler free. :)

Haha yaa you're one of the unicorns who hasn't. I saw it late too cos tight schedule! Can't wait. Good luck avoiding the spoilers!