Don't let the Devil know your plans

in #karma4 years ago

devil1427639_640.jpg
Source

I was listening an audio of one of Alan Watt’s speeches, this time about freeing yourself from past Karma. My mind was blown away by one of the ideas expressed, that had to do with not making long term commitments because it was like telling the Devil your plans.

What he means is that by expressing that you want to leave behind something that you consider a negative or toxic behaviour that in consequence brings you negative Karma, you shouldn’t tell your mind so. The Devil (the egoic mind) will do everything in its power to resist change and you will likely fail.

So the solution that he proposes is to do it one day at a time. For example you want to stop eating anxiously, you should just say: “today I won’t eat anxiously”. The next day you should say: “ok, I can go on with this for one more day”. Going on like this day after day might be much more effective than making eternal promises that get easily broken.

Sorry for today’s short post, I decided to take it easy today… however I think this is a powerful message to consider:

Sort:  

I have found this approach to be a lot more successful than looking too far in the future. I used to go through these urges to change my life around, I would feel so inspired but then that burst of inspiration would fade away and I would give up.

So I started taking it slowly, one day at a time and asking myself "What can I do today that will get me closer to my goal?" :)


@fenngen, sorry to see you have less Hive Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Red Fish!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz Ranking update - New key indicators