Keto: Breakfast Bacon Egg Muffinsketo, health, food, breakfast, busy

in #keto6 years ago

A ketogenic diet has a lot of great health benefits, but it is hard to find options for three meals a day with no carbs. You can make your diet much easier with food prep and preparing meals for the week. I’ve found preparing breakfast is the most beneficial to me.

Today I am going to show you my morning routine for breakfast prep for the week. It is a great combination of eggs, meat and cheese, all great for keto! Here is what you need to make 6 muffins (you can double this if you want to make 12 at a time).

Ingredients required:
5 eggs, 6 strips of uncooked bacon, ~1 tablespoon of heavy cream, ½ cup of shredded cheese (any kind), ½ bell pepper (or substitute with another keto friendly veggie), salt & pepper.

IMG-2018.JPG

Hardware required: Tray for cooking bacon, muffin tin, oven, mixing bowl, cutting board + knife, fork, cooking spray or alternative, rubber spatula.

First step is to cook the bacon. Set out six strips on an oven safe tray, make sure to use something which will catch the bacon grease and not dirty up your oven.
-Note- I only had 5 strips of bacon defrosted today, so I made 5 muffins with bacon and one without. You can make all without bacon if you are a keto vegetarian!

IMG-2019.JPG

-Note- I only had 5 strips of bacon defrosted today, so I made 5 muffins with bacon and one without. You can make all without bacon if you are a keto vegetarian!

Bake in the oven for 10 minutes at 375° F.

IMG-2021.JPG

While the bacon is baking, mix the eggs and heavy cream together.

IMG-2023.JPG

Next, chop up your bell pepper, or what every veggies you want to add. I usually use bell peppers becuase we have buy a lot. I have also used spinach, asparagus, artichoke hearts. I usually use the leftover veggies that need to get eaten before they turn. You can experiment with your favorite, I would use about ½ cup of chopped veggies.

IMG-2024.JPG

Add the chopped veggies and cheese to the mixed eggs

IMG-2025.JPG

Make sure to add in salt and pepper (or other spices) to taste. Correct spices make everything better, but everyone has a different pallette. I prefer a lot of pepper :)

IMG-2027.JPG

Next, prepare your muffin tin. Definitely use a cooking spray or some grease in your muffin tins! These will be too hard to remove if it isn’t greased. I have used bacon grease in the past, which I have saved from making this recipe over and over. But I didn’t want to get my hands dirty from spreading grease with my fingers while taking picture of this process so I sprayed my cookie sheet down.

IMG-2028.JPG

Next wait for the bacon to be done. It shouldn’t be super crispy or crunchy, otherwise it won’t mold into shape.

IMG-2029.JPG

Take a fork and pick up the bacon from one end and spin the form to put the bacon into a round shape.

IMG-2031.JPG

Put the circle of bacon into one of the muffin holes on your muffin tin. (Dumb thought: “Muffin holes”? Does anyone know if these cavities have a proper name?)

IMG-2032.JPG

Fill the egg mixture into each muffin hole. Try to make them even. This step is tricky because of the consistency of the eggs plus the solid veggies.

IMG-2034.JPG

Next, put the muffin tin in the oven and bake at 325°F for 15 minutes.

IMG-2033.JPG

After baking for 15 minutes, the egg muffins have risen a little bit and look quite like muffins.

IMG-2036.JPG

I like to store all of these in one container in the fridge. They are fine for about 1-2 weeks, though I usually eat one a day so this will last me all week.

IMG-2037.JPG

To reheat, just put on a plate in the microwave and nuke for 60 seconds. I enjoy these with cholula and a keto friendly bulletproof coffee. Click here for my bulletproof coffee recipe

IMG-2038.JPG

Cheers! Chipper

Sort:  

wow! yummy in your tummy)

All it needs is coffee and it'd be perfect!

Looks like a variation on Scottish eggs. Nice.