The Keto Way

in #keto5 years ago

I stumbled on the Keto Way by accident.

I'm a pretty healthy person on the whole.

In January 2019, I attended my doctor's surgery for a wellness check. I had also started Intermittent fasting/restricted time eating as i wanted to lose a few kgs. I was 61 kg at the time.

Everything came back normal except for the raised blood cholesterol (HDL 1.8, Trig 0.88, LDL 5.6). These are UK measurements. I was asked to see the practice nurse, but I didn't. Instead, I thought I would sort it myself with diet and supplements. I wasn't aware of the Low-carb diet at the time. Although I did not consider that I was a high-carb eater, I was still eating carbs like cakes and chocolates and biscuits. I did have noodles, pasta and rice as well. And I was essentially on a low-fat diet, although I did enjoy high-fat cheese occasionally.

I lost a few kgs and my weight plateaued at 58 kgs. In June I decided to go see the nurse and arranged for another blood test. The results came back as HDL 2.1, Trig 0.87, LDL 5.9. The doctor called me in and instantly wanted to put me on statins as my cholesterol was very 'high' at 8.4. I refused and he gave me the opportunity to see the Lipids consultant.

I eventually saw the consultant in September and had found the Keto way 2 days before the appointment. After much debate with the consultant at the hospital, he gave me 4 months to get my LDL down 1 point. In the meantime, I have found information that LDL is not all bad. Cholesterol is not all bad. Fat is not all bad. It's the sugars and the starches.

I've been on the Keto way - no carbs at all for the past 3 weeks. I test my urine every morning and am now in the moderate fat-burning mode. I also started to test my blood glucose and blood keto in the last few days.

I still fast, eating 1.5 meals a day. My weight is now 56.2 kgs. My belly fat is slowly going. I'm getting into the old clothes that I have not worn for years - a good job that I didn't get rid of them!

Just out of curiosity, I recently compared the 2 blood tests. HDL improved, Trig improved, yes LDL went up, but that does on a low-carb high fat diet. My ratios have improved.

I continue to try and spread the word by sharing videos and articles on FB. We need to teach the masses that sugar is causing metabolic syndrome (diabetes, obesity, etc).

Here is one of my meals - Baked Avocado with egg yolks, mushroom and egg white omelette, cauliflower mash, broccoli and mushrooms.2019-09-24 16.42.48.jpg