Hive Keychain DHF 2 - Weeks 9 & 10

in #keychain3 years ago
Authored by @stoodkev

social_keychainforhive.jpg

As promised in our proposal, we will post weekly updates to let you know what's going on regarding Keychain development.

Mobile App

I normally post updates weekly but I was tackling a big issue these past two weeks and wouldn't have had much to say until I solved it.
This problem was the use of four functions in Keychain :decodeMemo, encodeMemo, signTx and signBuffer. Although they are trivial to implement in most languages, it's a big trouble in React Native and was actually my main worry for the development of the App going further.
I won't go to far in technicalities but basically hive-js module won't work directly because it uses Node.js core modules such as assert and crypto. I've posted a possible method to solve this issue a few months back, but later realized that in the case of the memo encryption/decryption that method was still failing.

I finally solved this issue by creating a new RN component I called HiveJSBridge. Here's how it works:

  • A WebView (image it as a browser page) is launched at the root of the App with a size of 0 so it won't show.
  • A minified file containing basic html and a browserified version of hive-js is loaded on the webview.
  • a reference to the webview is used to inject code in the webview to request the 4 methods above.
  • the webview returns a promise that will resolve to the result.

Now that this is working, I'll just have to implement it to encode and decode transfer memos.

Also, I've added the possibility to change RPC nodes via the Settings tab on the menu.

Message to devs

I'll make a detailed post and publish the component in case some of you are interested in using it in your project.

Discord

To communicate with us or become an Alpha tester, join our Discord by following this link :
https://discord.gg/3EM6YfRrGv

Or scanning this QR Code :

image.png

Core Team

@stoodkev : Lead Dev - Witness
@nateaguila : UI/UX
@yabapmatt : Founder - Witness
@aggroed : Founder - Witness


Support Hive Keychain development by voting for our proposal on PeakD (on the upcoming section)or with HiveSigner.

100% of payout is redirected to the DAO

Sort:  

Great progress, what's the ETA on the IOS app?

I've lost some time with the issue above but if it all goes well I'm hoping to have the Alpha online next week.

Hey, the beta is live on Testflight, please join the discord and dm me your email so that I can add you to the list.

Will do now

Would using https://github.com/mahdiyari/hive-tx-js not be possible?

It uses crypto module as well, will lead to the same issue.