"KILL THE PAD" CHALLENGE! WEEK #1 - SPONSORED BY STEEM MUSIC ALLIANCE

in #killthepad6 years ago (edited)

What is Kill The Pad Challenge?

Kill The Pad challenge is a bi-weekly topical text based rap competition for SBD. Why am I starting a text based rap initiative? We have many creative writers in the hip hop community, however, some of these writers might not feel extremely comfortable on the mic. I want to give them a place they can shine without worrying about a vocal performance. This will also benefit the rappers who are already slaying the other rap challenges. It's all about elevating together, learning from each other, and growing as an artist.

IF YOU ARE A RAPPER, WRITER, OR POET THEN YOU SHOULD PARTICIPATE! LET'S HONE OUR SKILLS AND BECOME BETTER ARTISTS TOGETHER!

Shout out to @scuzzy for making the DOPE artwork. He did the main artwork and the dividers, dude is a beast on them instrumentals and on illustrator!! Much love man!

Shout out to @seveaux and the rest of SMA for sponsoring this and for building a great community.

If you haven't already become a part of SMA, there is an invite link to the server at the bottom of this post


  • Upvote & Resteem this post - Shows you support this initiative and not just here for the SBD.
  • Every 2 Wednesday's (2 weeks), I will post the topic of that weeks challenge.
  • Make a post on Steemit with your lyrics, with the first tag as #killthepad
  • No shorter than 16 bars(lines) and no longer than 48 bars
  • Next Wednesday I will put up the submission post, you must post your submission there before Thursday morning at 3 AM EST.
  • The winners will be announced the following Tuesday.





This weeks topic is: Bullying

You can write about a personal experience with bullying, a fictional story, whatever you want. The idea here is to be as creative as you can be, you can stretch the topic as much or as little as you want. Just know that it has to be related to the topic of bullying, and if it's too much of a stretch that I can't connect the dots, that's not a good thing. If you are one of those people who really want to go as far as you can, then if it's hard to connect the dots, write a paragraph or two about your reasoning behind your lyrics so I can understand where you're coming from.





1st place winner = 4 SBD

2nd place winner = 2 SBD

3rd place winner = 1 SBD


I will be judging your entries on a few criteria. Structure, content, rhyme scheme, and how well it fits the topic. Remember, this is a rap competition. While most rap can be considered poetry, most poetry wouldn't be considered rap. If you are a poet, don't worry, do what you do. I will try to leave critiques for every entry and let you know what could be improved upon, if anything.

DO NOT POST LYRICS ON THIS PAGE. Please put them in your own post and wait until next Wednesday for the submission post. Thanks!!





Are you a music creator or just love music?

Steem Music Alliance. Singers, producers, everything.

Sort:  

I think this is a really cool idea! Look forward to hearing next week's entries!!

Awww, you changed your mind :(.

Nice jackin 4 beats entry btw, I checked it out but didn't get a chance to leave a reply.

Awe man you got me lol yeah I believe I have a lil something something for you

Well this if different in a good way, i think most rappers can write really great stuff but the hard part is fitting in on a beat. I know i struggle with that and can't be the only one.

Yea man, exactly... That's why I wanted to do something like this. Wanted to give everyone a chance to really shine and show us what they have in their minds, not just their vocal chords.

I think this is dope. Resteemed

Sweet, thanks man!

Yeah!!! This is cool!!!! nice 1!!!
termite symbol.jpg

Thanks man!

Yea i like this. How are you going about picking the topics?

No real method, haha, just whatever comes up in my head. Now that you mention it, I might do something like ask everyone for a topic on the winner thread or something and then put it into a one of those randomize things and let it pick for me.

This will be great practice, until I get a mic!!!! And it won't stop me from ripping the mic up haha!! I am getting more comfortable with recording every moment I do it again!!

Niceeee, you have some real dope rhymes my man. I want to see you get the recognition you deserve!

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

Goddamn you @jamesgetsit, this is some brilliant idea for a contest, man! I love it, and I'm in on this one!
Thumbs 👍

Thanks! Can't wait to see what you come up with!

You got a 0.85% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @alao!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This is a wonderful contest. I am gifted by the talented people who progress to it. They may succeed in presenting the new and distinctive

About to drop my bars

this is an amazing way to get the hiphop culture growing on Steemit, I 100% support this and will be participating every chance I can!

Look forward to it man!! All entries have to be in for this round before Thursday 3AM, EST

Can't wait to read it my man!