"KILL THE PAD" CHALLENGE WEEK #3 - SPONSORED BY SMA ( This is a DSound Community Initiative )

in #killthepad6 years ago (edited)


Artwork by @scuzzy

What is Kill The Pad Challenge?

Kill The Pad challenge is a weekly topical text based rap competition for SBD. Why am I starting a text based rap initiative? We have many creative writers in the hip hop community. One doesn't have to get onto the mic to show their prowess with lyricism. This will benefit the less experienced and the more experienced alike. Topicals are always a good exercise. It's all about elevating together, learning from each other, and growing as an artist.

THE CHALLENGE HAS CHANGED FROM BI-WEEKLY TO WEEKLY!! Please look at the rules to see how it will be done now.


SMA

This challenge is sponsored by the SMA. If you are a musician, singer, song writer, rapper, or musically inclined in any way, head over there and connect with other musicians! An invite button is at the bottom of the post.

Dsound

This contest is made with help of @dsound so I can not thank enough for this beautiful initiative. Dsound is a platform connected to Steemit that allows you to upload your music and sounds in a similar fashion like Soundcloud. Make sure to join Dsound Discord channel here.





  • Upvote & Resteem this post - Shows you support this initiative and not just here for the SBD.
  • Every Sunday will be the announcement, then on Saturday will announce the winners.
  • Make a post on Steemit with your lyrics, with the first tag as #killthepad and post it here.
  • No shorter than 16 bars(lines) and no longer than 48 bars
  • Has to be submitted no later than Saturday at 3 A.M. EST.



This weeks topic is: Freedom

Once again this topic was suggested by @simgirl. If you want to suggest topics to use, you must go to the #killthepad channel in the SMA Discord server and suggest them there.

I love this topic because it can be approached from so many different angles. I'm really looking forward to what everyone comes up with! As always, if it's going to be a stretch, or if it's going to be hard to connect the dots with what you're trying to say; please write a small paragraph explaining your point of view.




Thanks to @dsound, I've been able to double the prizes!

1st place winner = 8 SBD + 20 Points in Steem Music League

2nd place winner = 4 SBD + 15 Points in Steem Music League

3rd place winner = 2 SBD + 10 Points in Steem Music League





I will be judging your entries on a few criteria. Structure, content, rhyme scheme, and how well it fits the topic. Each will be given a number from 0-10. The average will be the overall score. I will also be leaving critiques on each of the raps submitted. This is all constructive criticism!! I believe that people can't truly grow as artists without objective onlookers critiquing their work.

Remember, this is a rap competition. While most rap can be considered poetry, most poetry wouldn't be considered rap. If you are a poet, don't worry, do what you do. I will try to leave critiques for every entry and let you know what could be improved upon, if anything.

DO NOT POST LYRICS ON THIS PAGE. Please put them in your own post and the just post the link here. Thanks!!





Are you a music creator or just love music?

Steem Music Alliance. Singers, producers, everything.

Sort:  

Great topic!! I will let this concept marinate, so I don't go an post my lyrics days before the submission post!!

It's switched up man, this is now the submission post. It's every week now. So you have until Saturday to post it on here!

Oh okay dope, for sure. Then I may do something today, depends on how it goes.!!

I am working on a song for @rondonson next #producerchallenge at the moment. Haha Well off and on anyways

Sweet man, send me a link in discord whenever you're done, would love to hear it!

For sure will do!!

Yo yo yo!!! Appreciate you droppin that man, can't wait to check it out. I've checked out your challenge entries, and you're DEFINITELY showing major improvements dude. Way to put in the work my dude!

Thanks I really appreciated it, and all the help with better comprehending the things I am currently lacking in but improving.

Dope. Going in!

When are we expecting last contests prizes?

Sweet, can't wait to see it!! Should be sending the prizes out soon!

Woot woot! Danshaw in the house! :D

Can't wait to read it!

Look forward to hearing your feedback @jamesgetsit

Yo yo yo!! About to check it out in just a minute!

Sweet man, appreciate you hopping on this! About to go through and check em all out!

Sweet, about to go through and check them all out!

Yooooo, sweet man! Was wondering if you were going to hop on one! Appreciate you stopping in my dude!

Here is my entry for the contest and I am being optimistic that I would win the competition. That is the right spirit and attitude I am having here. This is my entry for the contest

https://steemit.com/killthepad/@oshiokhenhoya/killthepad-challenge-week-3-freedom

Imma jump on this one!

Heck yea man, can't wait to see what you come up with!

I love this topic already I can actually bring it on now, but I have to wait till saturday though.
What a pity I have killed it already!!!
Before I new about the former contest today I already dropped something related to the last topic without even knowing that a topic like that had been used formerly

Sweet! Can't wait to see what you come up with!

Hey did I already miss the "Steem" theme?? Smh

Yeaaa, but don't fret, plenty more topics to come! :D

Hope to see you killin the pad this week, really enjoy your fresh take on lyricism!

Congratulations @jamesgetsit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I dont kill the pad, i enlighten it, brighten it, mic and shit, vikings whip, on the spot hot like lava dots, meant to rock, like lava rocks, i do daily rhymes making crazy lines straight from the mind. check me out some time and drop a line. I've got cellular habits of rhythmic magic when flowing like a poet in heat, passionately dropping verbal tornados to rearrange those mind frames to lions mane mood mushroom neural respection. So what i made up a word, life is a lesson. verbal poetic text made expression.