"KILL THE PAD" CHALLENGE WEEK #5 - SPONSORED BY SMA ( This is a DSound Community Initiative )

in #killthepad6 years ago (edited)


Artwork by @scuzzy

What is Kill The Pad Challenge?

Kill The Pad challenge is a weekly topical text based rap competition for SBD. Why am I starting a text based rap initiative? We have many creative writers in the hip hop community. One doesn't have to get onto the mic to show their prowess with lyricism. This will benefit the less experienced and the more experienced alike. Topicals are always a good exercise. It's all about elevating together, learning from each other, and growing as an artist.

THE CHALLENGE HAS CHANGED FROM BI-WEEKLY TO WEEKLY!! Please look at the rules to see how it will be done now.


SMA

This challenge is sponsored by the SMA. If you are a musician, singer, song writer, rapper, or musically inclined in any way, head over there and connect with other musicians! An invite button is at the bottom of the post.

Dsound

This contest is made with help of @dsound so I can not thank enough for this beautiful initiative. Dsound is a platform connected to Steemit that allows you to upload your music and sounds in a similar fashion like Soundcloud. Make sure to join Dsound Discord channel here.





  • Upvote & Resteem this post - Shows you support this initiative and not just here for the SBD.
  • Every Sunday will be the announcement, then on Saturday will announce the winners.
  • Make a post on Steemit with your lyrics, with the first tag as #killthepad and post it here.
  • No shorter than 16 bars(lines) and no longer than 48 bars
  • Has to be submitted no later than Saturday at 3 A.M. EST.



This weeks topic is: Family

I had a chance to hang out my grandmother, mom, sister, and one of my brothers last night for a good while. We haven't had all of us together in some years, so it was very nice to be able to do that. Made the choice for this week exceptionally easy.

I can't wait to see what you guys come up with!




EDIT: Had to bring back down the prizes this week guys, I hope everyone understands!

1st place winner = 1.5 SBD + 20 Steem Music League points + 25 Whaleshares

2nd place winner = 1 SBD + 15 Steem Music League points + 15 Whaleshares

3rd place winner = .5 SBD + 10 Steem Music League points + 10 Whaleshares



Other stuff

Remember, this is a rap competition. While most rap can be considered poetry, most poetry wouldn't be considered rap. If you are a poet, don't worry, do what you do. I will try to leave critiques for every entry and let you know what could be improved upon, if anything.

Whalehares are tokens on BitShares.

You will need to make a BitShares Wallet in order to receive them.

All you need to do to make a BitShares wallet is click here. Once you have a wallet set up, please contact me on discord with your wallet address or BitShares account name so I can send you your winnings!

DO NOT POST LYRICS ON THIS PAGE. Please put them in your own post and the just post the link here. Thanks!!





Are you a music creator or just love music?

Steem Music Alliance. Singers, producers, everything.

Sort:  

Can't believe I missed the last week lol Time is flying but this is such a great community challenge. Keep it up bro @jamesgetsit

https://steemit.com/killthepad/@verbal-d/jamesgetsit-s-kill-the-pad-challenge-wk-5-family-original-verse-poem

Thanks a lot brother!! Am going to keep going as long as people keep coming... unfortunately, I am not sure if I will even be able to give out any SBD prizes this week, and if there are prizes, it might be reallllyy low. Sponsorship head aches >.<... lol... Thanks for participating my man!

You're most welcome bro, and thanks for the heads up. I know how it is, I have run contests myself and currently help with two. You are doing a great job and even if no prize was involved I love the concept and would still participate

That's what's up dude, really appreciate it!

Yoooooo!! Red in this house!! Appreciate you dropping something dude!

Just got back from a long trip. Still had to drop something .

https://steemit.com/killthepad/@ulqu3/killthepad-challenge-week-5-family

Glad you made it my man!! About to read it in a minute!

Shoot I almost missed this!!!!! I'll be back!

Got a newcomer on the scene!! What what! Glad you took the advice to head over to the SMA channel... See how much cooler it is than all those other servers?! Nawwwwww, I'm just messing around... Kind of :D

About to check this is just a minute. Also, this entry is too late, as they are suppose to be in by 3 A.M. this morning, but am letting it slide since you're a newbie and all :P

Ya man!! That's a mighty fine thing to do ;)

im new to this , not sure if i did it how i was supposed to https://steemit.com/killthepad/@fromlanada/killthepad-challenge-week-5-family-fromlanada thanks

Yea man, you got it! Will be checking over all the raps later on in the week!

Here is my week 5 entry! my first time jumping into this part of the sml challenges! finally! I hope you like this little twisted number!!!

https://steemit.com/killthepad/@hilladigahackles/my-entry-for-week-5-killthepad-lyric-contest

Wooot!! Can't wait to read it!! Thank you for participating!

I am traveling and now I cannot upvote this post anymore, so I upvoted this comment instead buddy! sorry for this... :)

No probs man, really appreciate it!

Ayy much love and respect :)

Yah sure read out rules
Nice post read out.and thanks to sma for such a good sponsoring.
Resteemed this post