Knifebuilding

in #knife6 years ago

I've always wanted to build a knife, and lately I've decided to take the plunge and design one myself. Since I know a little blender, I fired it up and modeled up what I hope to make as far as a knife.

Here's my design so far.

Sort:  

Nice! have you gotten to the actual making of the knife yet?
I'm on my second knife ever at the moment, and I have to say, actually making them really helps with the learning process. I've just posted my introduceyourself blog, you can see my second knife on there!

I haven't yet. Still needing to find some steel. I'm thinking of ordering some O1 since it's relatively forgiving! As soon as I get it, I'm going to post the updates. I'm going to try and make my own micarta scales for it too. I'm really hoping to have fun, and learn something new :D

Welcome to steemit! I love how this platform can really reward people doing things in the real world!

This is pretty awesome! I'd like to start doing some of this as well. Something ancestral about creating weapons with your bare hands - even if using modern technology to do so

Knifemaking is an awesome hobby. If you'd like you can check out the one that I'm in the process of making on my latest(and only) blog post.