Remembrance Blanket

in #knitting4 years ago

DSC_0973.jpg
I'm feeling so proud to have finally finished this blanket, it has a very special story behind it you see. When my grandmother passed away I was given all her leftover knitting wool. Most people hunger after jewels and money but I know the knitters out there will understand how much more precious this was. When me and my mum were looking through all the odd balls of wool from leftover projects she had completed over the years we noticed how much blue there was, so we decided a nice blue patchwork blanket would be best.
DSC_0976.jpg
Each square has a different pattern which fitted best with the texture of the wool. After knitting and knitting until there wasn't enough left for another square I had to start organising them. This actually proved to be so much trickier than I first thought it would be. I didn't want the same colour to be too close so they had to be spread out, but having just knitted as much as I could from the leftover yarn I didn't have equal colours. It took ages to sort through them. I laid each square out on the floor and just kept swapping squares until I was finally happy. I think it's quite nicely random now don't you?
DSC_0978.jpg
Luckily I had the foresight to label each one by the row and column it was in so I could pack it away without losing all the hard work. This project has taken a really long time to complete but I feel really happy with how it's come out and I'm sure my granny would be very pleased to see that all those leftover lonely balls of yarn have finally come together and made a beautiful blanket.

DSC_0998.jpg

Sort:  

It's lovely. I'm sure your grandmother would have adored it.

I tend more towards crocheting myself, especially for blankets as it has less stretch. Did you alternate the way the squares were sewn together to balance this stretch. I notice it's hanging very evenly.

PS: I noticed your Hive Power (HP) is at zero, which will limit your resource credits (RC) and how often you can interact here, so I've delegated 50 HP to get you up and running until you've earnt enough. Hopefully this means you can interact without hindrance.

Thank you, I like to think that she would approve. Yes I did try to alternate where the stitching was appropriate. I have just started a crochet blanket so it'll be interesting to see the difference.

It was so generous of you to send me that Hive Power, thank you so much. I have only just started but so far everyone has been very welcoming. It's a wonderful community.

It will be interesting to see a comparison. I hope you'll share it with us. 😉

I hope you're finding your way around the platform okay. The majority of us are happy to help in any way we can, so don't be afraid to ask questions. The needlework community is a particularly lovely one, so you landed in the right place there. 😁

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.