Benchmade 940-1 Osborne

in #knives6 years ago

Benchmade 940-1 Closed Clip Side 1.jpg

The Benchmade 940-1 Osborne was one of my later knife purchases. It's another one of Benchmade's signature knives. It was designed by knife maker Warren Osborne. Like the Griptilian, the 940 model is one of Benchmade's best sellers. The 940-1 is a souped up version of the standard 940.

Benchmade 940-1 Closed Other Side 2.jpg

The first big difference you see on the 940-1 over the 940 is the carbon fibre scales. The carbon fibre looks cool and it's lighter than the original aluminum. The original 940 Osborne is 82.21 grams (2.90 ounces) and the 940-1 is 69.17 grams (2.44 ounces) for a savings of 13.04 grams (0.46 ounces). I also saw a review where a person commented that the carbon fibre handle doesn't conduct the cold in the winter like the aluminum handle does. Honestly though, I just think it's cool that my carbon fibre knife matches my carbon fibre sunglasses.

Benchmade 940-1 Closed Spine 1.jpg

Benchmade 940-1 Open Spine 1.jpg

The 940-1 has an open back. That's another difference from the original, the original had a closed back. The blue anodized spacers are a nice touch. They go well with the carbon fibre.

Benchmade 940-1 Open Other Side 3.jpg

The other upgrade from the original Osborne 940 is the blade steel. The 940-1 comes in CPM-S90V, an upgrade from the original CPM-S30V. Both steels are stainless steels and are made by Crucible Industries. The CPM-S90V holds an edge longer but is slightly more susceptible to chipping. With regular use the S90V will hold an edge longer. It's just a little harder to sharpen.

Benchmade 940-1 Open Clip Side 1.jpg

Being as light as it is the knife is perfect for an everyday carry. It's a classy looking knife. Honestly when I first got it I was surprised by how small it was. Don't get me wrong, it's a nice size. I don't think I would want it any bigger. For some reason I just thought it would be larger than it was.

Benchmade 940-1 Closed Inside 1.jpg

Benchmade 940-1 Open Inside 2.jpg

The only downside of this knife is the cost. With the carbon fibre and the super steel blade, the 940-1 is significantly more expensive than the original 940. They were $336.95 CAD at Warriors and Wonders when I bought mine. They were out of stock when I checked at the time of writing this.

Benchmade 940-1 Knife and Glasses 1.jpg

Here are the glasses that match the knife. Them matching was actually a coincidence that I noticed after I bought the knife. The knife is one of my favourites. It's no wonder the 940 is so popular. It is a great knife that is even better when you can get the 940-1.