You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Importance of Knowing a Little Bit About Everything

in #knowledge7 years ago (edited)

This reminds me of my dad. He was your typical "Jack-of-All-Trades." He owned upholstery shops, taught me how to do body-work & paint cars. He welded when he needed to, he fixed our cars, he drove busses, tractors, water-trucks, long-haul, and at different times he sold insurance and is now a real-estate agent. He built the 2nd-story addition onto our house, too. There's probably a bunch of things that I'm forgetting about, too.

I learned a lot of things from my dad. Probably, the most important thing that I learned is this: don't be afraid to try it yourself, F#@K it up a whole bunch, learn something from your experience, then go back and do the job correctly. I have built over 50 custom computers, I was a medical lab. tech in the U.S. Army, I've built my own wood & fiberglass canoe, I remodel trailers when I have time, now I am a cab-driver, and I'm about to Google how to fix my dryer - because it quit working after I moved it. Oh, I'm also about to make my own barrel-stove, with a concrete/perlite lining, to heat my place this winter using paper-mache' logs that I made from waste paper & sawdust. I've also done the body-work and painted my last 8 or 10 automobiles. Best thing ever: saving a $#!T-ton of money on repair costs.