You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Importance of Knowing a Little Bit About Everything

in #knowledge7 years ago

great point @jerry12 - I've been lucky enough to have been raised in a nice neighborhood (actually the town where Home Alone was filmed, now you can picture it), loving family, fine with money, etc. Now does that mean I didn't learn as much...? Maybe, or I would say definitely, in some way I didn't learn the same lessons a scrappy street growing up on the streets might learn, nor did I learn the same lessons of the son of a successful investment banking firm might have learned...but some valuable lessons I learned all the same.

I'd conclude by saying we all have our own experience, and learn different "life lessons" from this. Still though, a kid who has everything handed to them on a silver spoon arguably learns a lot less than someone growing up who was forced to accomplish and earn on their own (no matter their financial situation).

Sort:  

Crazy cool you were raised in the same town, I used to watch home alone during Christmas time, almost every year.
I'm not judging you for having a 'good' childhood, I'm glad you had a great time growing up. And I'm not saying I had a hard time, I had a loving family, never been classed as 'rich' but a great family.
And we are all just people, it's not your childhood that determines your future, it's only you, yourself who chooses what to learn and whether you want to learn or not, of course it helps if your curious and interested in learning.

Haha absolutely, no worries I wasn't thinking at all you were judging, I was just reflecting on my personal learning experience in the context of your article and our discussion..yep, everyone has both different opportunities AND choices what to make out of these opportunities.