Sort:  

Don't be! For real!

5-years-ago-me wouldn't have been able to hear it at all. And it definitely does help on both a personal level (reminds me of how far I've come in rehabbing my attitude about what's acceptable treatment from others) and on a broader scale (reminds me what I'm moving toward in developing a sound community of good company). Hearing it keeps the lessons I've learned fresh- that's part of the problem with conditioning of this sort. It's insidious and will return unless it's kept at bay.

The message is useful for people who have lived, or are currently going through something worse than just your garden variety "bad" relationship(s). No doubt. But when applied to matters outside the realm of strictly individual experience, it is extremely empowering stuff!

I think as more people realize that the victimhood they perpetuate (on either side of the coin) is a result of systematic, generational training, the easier it will get to correct. That may sound naively optimistic but once I came to understand that it can be selectively rejected, the bad guys (not just in a romantic sense) were a lot easier to spot and became totally unattractive. More than that, I think they stopped seeing me as an easy "mark" because I've found, since changing my own attitude, that I encounter fewer of them.

Now is the part where I resist spending the next 2hrs fiddling around with the above statement to make it perfect. Just going to leave it as is and hope it makes enough sense to anyone who reads it. lol