Corona

in #korea4 years ago (edited)

Was playing chess this morning, when suddenly I notice that my opponent, 80 year old English guy, is staring at me intently.

What? I ask.

Are you ok, he asks. I had cleared my throat but he claimed I coughed. I honestly can't really remember what happened.

I feel offended. Of course I am ok. He is terrified of catching the coronavirus. We keep playing and I win. He reaches across the table to shake my hand but then thinks better of it, and pulls his hand back; haha. Then he wins the next three games. I guess I can't focus today. Maybe I AM sick.

Of course I believe that if I did catch it, I would just recover. I am too young and strong to be brought down by any weak-ass 21st century plague-type thing.

Here in Korea lots of people are coughing, but respiratory disorders are endemic anyway. 70 to 80% of people are wearing masks, but 50% wear masks in the winter anyway. So who knows.