5 RISING KPOP GIRL GROUPS

in #kpop7 years ago

So I'm a big fan of K-Pop so today I thought I'd talk about 5 smaller K-Pop girl groups that I really like! I'm talking about groups that either recently debuted, or still havent got their first win, or really arent doing as well as I think they should be!

  1. COSMIC GIRLS/WJSN

    Honestly I wasn't that into them until Yeonjung joined, I wasn't really a fan of Mo Mo Mo. I got into them during the secret era (mainly due to YJ), and really she's definitely one of the main draws for the group, especially as now heavy-weight labelmates SISTAR have disbanded.
    I think their line distributions need some work (cough cough Justice for Cheng Xiao) and that they over rely on Yeonjung's status as a former-IOI member. I'm also scared that due to joint management by Starship and Yuehua we might get a situation like with Hello Venus and the split between Fantagio and Pledis. WJSN Fighting!

  2. DIA

    I was a little disappointed in DIA until Mr.Potter, mainly because I expected more thanks to labelmates such as T-ARA. However, I think they've really found their sound with the quirky, bubblegumness that is "Will You Go Out With Me" and the Hogwarts inspired "Mr.Potter". I was a little sceptical of the line up additions earlier this year (after how MBK handled T-ARA's), but then found out that they already had a line up change when Seunghee left, thought I had no interest in the group at this point.
    I think with Chaeyeon's status as a former-IOI member, and Huihyeon being in P101, MBK needs to promote them better, and focus more on giving Chae the centre and Hui more rap lines. DIA Fighting!

  3. OH MY GIRL

    I LOVE OMG! With them I've been a fan since debut. I love their style and their quirkiness, with songs like "Colouring Book" and "Aing!". Whilst "Closer" is still my favourite song by them, it wont get them recognition in Korea, so by following the more childlike vibe that they've developed I think they could hit it big. I'm still hoping that JinE makes a full recovery from anorexia, and one of my few qualms with WM Ent. is that it took so long to get any updates on her! For now I hope the current 7 make Jine proud! OMG Fighting!

  4. DREAMCATCHER

    Prior to their metal, gothic subgenre of K-pop, Dreamcatcher was known (with 2 less members) as Minx. I liked their debut song "Why Did You Come To My Home", but their subsequent releases didnt do as well. I'm glad those 5 girls got rebranded into this new group, and I love how refreshing their concept is. Dreamcatcher fighting!

  5. GUGUAN

    These girls are actually getting quite big thanks to Sejeong and Mina (again, former IOI members), however at first I thought "Wonderland" was a complete flop, and that they'd wasted Sejeong especially on such a light concept. However, when "A Girl Like Me" dropped earlier this year, I began to like them a lot more. I think Jellyfish does a good job as using their best assets (the IOI girls) in the group, but I also thing their line distributions again need work - Sally in particular needs more lines. I hope they get a win soon, as they've said Sally can go and visit her mother back in China when that happens. Gugudan fighting!

(What's with the chinese members not getting many lines? Justice for Cheng Xiao AND Sally!)

Sort:  

It's nice to find out about them..... thank you!

You're welcome! I hope you check them out and like them!

thanks for sharing I did not heard about them but after reading :)

You're welcome, I hope you check it out and like them!

You mispelled Gugudan!

Love all 5 of these groups too, nice write-up, upvoted

Thanks!
Im starting a blog regarding Korean Hiphop!
Please follow!