African Funk meets Korean Funk

in #kr7 years ago (edited)

I used to work as an NGO activist in Dar es Salam Tanzania.
I used to go to the neonatal section of one hospital all the time.
It was amazing to be near babies all the time!
It wasn't a easy task working in Dar.
The food, the people, the weather everything was foreign.
But that daily dose of Baby Power gave me the strength to go on.

There is a Swahili saying

"Umepata Furaha"

it means "You found happiness"

This is said to mommies when they give birth to their little angels.

I used to greet the newborns with my own creative Swahili phrase,

"Karibu duniani"

"Welcome to the world"

After my time in Dar, I came back to Seoul, Korea.
Again I had to adjust my life to another completely different environment.
I started to learn how to sew and this was one of the first outfit that I made.

A traditional Korean costume hanbok with traditional African print called Khanga.
This outfit brings all the memory of my time there
and makes me think of the newborns who probably are toddlers now.

Hope they are well and happy.

Thanks for reading!