Hot Creek, Cold Air

in #landscape3 years ago (edited)

It's always satisfying to discover new places. Last year while planning a roadtrip through the American southwest with my fiancee I came across a pin on Google Maps marked "Hot Creek Geological Site," with accompanying photos that looked enticing from an artistic perspective, and more reminiscent of the geothermally active Iceland than anywhere I've been in the USA.

It's near Mammoth Lakes, California, on the eastern side of the Sierra Nevada mountains (a range I particularly like), and we had the chance to visit it on our way through.

I woke up in the dark of a very cold morning and set up my tripod while the stars still shone. The crisp air blended with the geologically warm water to create clouds of steam, warming the air and sometimes obscuring the view of the mountains behind. It was a pretty scene to behold, shivering in the dark with numb fingers waiting for sunrise. I took photos as daylight crept into the sky, capturing frames from different times to blend into this one image.

I'm certainly not the first photographer to go here - subsequent research has shown it to be a popular Instagram location, and indeed I wasn't alone even on that frigid December morning - but for me it was still satisfying to have happened across this otherworldly oasis, just off the beaten track. It makes me wonder what other wonders we pass by thoughtlessly when we stick to the highway rather than slowing down and taking the dirt road.

20201203-.jpg

Sort:  

I love this location, Ian and I stopped here on our road trip a few years ago. Did you get a chance to go to some hot springs in the area?

Ah, you beat me to it haha! No, I didn't know where to look for the bathable got springs but I saw a lot of people camping and driving around despite the winter cold, and someone there mentioned hot springs for people. Did you find them? Do you recommend?

Ya, we found one that we went to.

Fantastic shot!

Thank you! It's such a cool place! 😁

Very cool. I agree with that sentiment, that there are so many things to discover off the highway. I love going with @jarvie off-roading. We saw some otherworld places in southern Utah last April. So cool. Oh and we lived in Bishop, California for years growing up.

What a great post! I feel like all of southern Utah is another world! Have you seen those weird colorless petrified dunes between Capitol Reef and Moab? It's so strange...like selective color in real life.

No I really need to get to Capitol Reef. My siblings are going doing the 5 national parks in Southern Utah in May so I think I will join for the Capitol Reef part.

Nice! Yeah, I hope you can do that. :D

I have never been to this spot... I didn't know it existed now I need to know!!

Awesome picture

Thank you! I'm surprised you didn't know about it, but then they really don't advertise it anywhere that I've seen.