Patterns - My Drop In The Ocean DITO

in #landscapephotography5 years ago (edited)

head1.jpg

PATTERNS - Drop In The Ocean*


My post for today's THEME: Patterns, for DITO, Drop In The Ocean, is, almost literally, a drop in the ocean!

I see patterns in the chaos of the universe around us. It's part of what makes me a photographer... finding the right light, the right pattern, the right angle! I find myself drawn to things... over and over, it's water. It is said, on earth, that from water, all life evolved. the patterns etched here, at low tide, while similar to yesterday's and close to tomorrow's will never be the same again. the infinite combinations of random atoms, bouncing, striking against one another, make it so.

The mere act of observing (Observer Effect), at a quantum level, a thing causes random changes. It's the bedrock of quantum mechanics, and a cornerstone of modern physics. Hiesenberg's Theories are a cornerstone. At a more macro level, the actions of waves upon sand in conditions never to be duplicated, the same water, temperature, winds and sands in sizes exactly matching are impossible. Simple friction changes each of these particles of sand in microscopic ways. The butterfly effect: A butterfly flaps it's wings in Africa and a hurricane is born, that grows to devastate the Americas.

So, what's the result? Unique patterns, etched but for a mere fraction of a moment in the time of our earth. For me, the excitement of photography, is finding those patterns and exploiting them. Capturing them, walking to find the right angle, and the right exposure timing, the right lens, and the right aperture. These patterns ever changing, are mine, frozen for all time, never to be repeated, and completely random.



CONNECTION, TRANSPARENCY, ENCOURAGEMENT, CONTEXT, EXPECTATION, DEDICATION, CREATIVITY, PRIDE, HUMILITY, COMMUNICATION, HUMOUR, CHANGE, FEAR, DISCOVERY, COOPERATION, LOVE, FUN, SUCCESS, LIBERATE, GOALS, BRAVERY, DESIRE, CONTINUATION, COINCIDENCE, OPINIONS, CRITICAL THINKING, DIGRESSION, ASTONISH, PERCEPTION, LUCIDITY, IDENTITY and today's: PATTERNS


“There is order and even great beauty in what looks like total chaos." S. Seaborn


Can you spot the subtle patterns in my work?



Be Merry. Do good. Don't be an JackAss.

More of my DITO Posts

Photos by Bluefin Studios

Geeky Camera Stuff:
Nikon d50, 155mm, f5.6, 1/4000th sec, Adobe Lightroom, Photoshop

thealliance_468x60.jpg

Small Welcome Wagon.png

bluefinstudios_red.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Looks like Mars might look like if they melted the ice.

The sand as portrayed in your photograph looks as though it is morphing into a pod of tiny dolphins that are jumping into the water!

interesting... I love the patterns people see.

That would be a great theme for a contest. I’m also s fan of repetition in nature and man made objects.

Indeed.
I ran a Patterns contest a while back, miss!
As I believe you well know!

I do see patterns, beautiful. I don't necessarily see chaos. I see order... but you and I can agree on the beauty :)

Yes, chaos, order, and great beauty.
I could hear your voice saying it.

Yes, chaos, order,
And great beauty. I could hear
Your voice saying it.

                 - bluefinstudios


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

thank you so very much!

This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's curie curation trail after manual review
Please join the community and become a photomag curator in the @c-squared discord server and vote for the @c-squared witness here .

thanks!

Beautifully written ... order from chaos if only fleeting.

Wow! This blew my mind. Congrats on your Curie. Well deserved. :)

Yes, yes.....the patterns a photographer sees and the patterns a photographer looks for - that unique, small window of opportunity to catch something before it is lost and to reveal its existence with your lens.

Such a wonderful and very deep post, @bluefinstudios MORE, MORE! ;)

Love the quote the end.

Posted using Partiko Android

Unique patterns, etched but for a mere fraction of a moment in the time of our earth.

I would worry that national geographic will steal this line. Then again not, ka ching.

It is a nice way to look at photography, and the beauty in randomness. Another compelling reason for me to refuse taking pictures of people :)

hope it does get swiped
$$$$

So lovely! I adore looking at the patterns in things! 😊