Allow your expectations to fall to the wayside - Landscape Photography

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys!

Here to squeak in an entry for @juliank 's #landscapephotography contest.

I had been staying in this location for a few days and noticed that the sunsets had been exploding in the valley between to incredible mountain ridges and this particular day I had it in my head that I was going to capture that event. So I got my gear ready with ample time and went to set up shop and wait for the color explosion....and waited....and waited. Finally I realized that night was not going to pan out in the way I had hoped so I rolled with the punches and decided to relocate to see if anything else was happening elsewhere. What came to unfold upon me was one of my absolute favorite photo sessions and incredible reflecting sunsests I have ever witnessed. A heavy storm was rolling in from the other side of the valley and the front lines of that storm caught soaked up every molecule of purple, violet, and red that the universe had to offer in its path and lit up the entire sky. To top it all off a rainbow peaked out and even a few lightning bolts shot across the sky (sadly I captured 0 lightning bolts). It was just me, my camera, and mother nature and pure joy. Hope you enjoy!

DSC06641-Edit.jpg

Captured on a Sony a6000 in Crested Butte, Colorado.


All work is original and belonging to myself, Mike, under the branding Borderless Citizen Photography. This brand aspires to inspire others to get out of their comfort zone and go somewhere new (borderless). Although going to new places and experience new cultures is fantastic and growth inducing for us I seek to inspire beyond simply going somewhere new. The "citizen" aspect refers to the fact that we are citizens of the world and should treat each and every piece of this planet as our own backyard and care for it as our own because it actually is ours. Collectively as humans we own this planet with all the other species that inhabit it and for some nonsensical reason we are the species that causes mass destruction to the beauty and wealth of life that it provides us. We must train ourselves to live up to the classical "Leave it better than you found it." in addition to engaging in the local communities that we visit.

www.borderlesscitizen.net

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 1/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 22:49:35
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 27.60/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 7
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Great piece of work! Thanks for sharing.
 

Thank you @viking-ventures ! I'm so glad you like it :)

Great shot...following you and thanks for sharing ;)

@asgarth Thank you for the feedback I really appreciate it! I strive to continue delivering enjoyable content!