You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Foreign Tongue - What Determines Our Linguistic Predilections?

in #language2 years ago

Maybe a trip to Germany is in order :) You know, it's interesting, but everyone I've met whose ancestors came from a different place (which is mostly everybody, isn't it?) speak that language, or had it spoken in their home. My own great-grandmother was from Croatia, yet no one in my family knows an ounce. It seems a shame these languages peter out.

My daughter did rhythmic gymnastics with a Ukrainian coach for a while and became attracted to the Russian language

That's wonderful! I think it's super beneficial even to come into contact with a different alphabet and culture, and so on. Does she still do rhythmic gymnastics?

Sort:  

We are actually lucky to know any German, because it didn't get taught to us at all by my grandmother. I suspect it's because she came to England so soon after the war, so it may not have looked the best to be teaching her children this former enemy's language. Instead we went to a Steiner school and learnt it there.

My daughter is at university and studying all hours now, so no longer does rhythmic. She can't afford the fees or the time.