Summer Solstice Resolutions and Poetic Similes, Homeschooling Blog, Grade 7

Summer Solstice Resolutions and Poetic Similies

Caden Teneycke describes a New Year's resolution as decision or promise that people make that they plan to do or keep for the whole year. They might decide to stop a bad habit or start a good habit. Different cultures and ancient peoples celebrate and celebrated New Years at different times and in different ways. but they all celebrated it as a renewal, leaving the bad behind and starting the new with better intentions.

It is not New Years and so I made two Summer Solstice resolutions.

  • I Will wipe all the negative self talk ('I can't do it' or 'I am so dumb') and also I won't mumble bad words under my breath about myself or anyone else.
  • When faced with a difficult decision, I will talk with an adult about my choices.

  1. I am like mouse, foraging for food.
  1. I am like a parrot, mimicking my Mom

3.I am like a cat, sleeping into the afternoon

  1. I am like a raven, tricking my friends and family with pranks.
  1. I am like a rabbit, always hopping around.
  1. I am like a dog, loyal to my family.
  1. I am like duck, always making noise.

8.I would like to be like an owl, wise

9.I would be like a bear, courageous.