How to get really hacked off in 2 days.

in #laos7 years ago (edited)

Day 1.

  • Fly from Bangkok to Udon Thani with Thai Lion Air without a hitch.
  • Take an air-conditioned van to Nong Khai and cross the border. Still no problems.
  • Take a taxi from Friendship Bridge to the Thai Embassy in Vientiane sharing with 3 other guys.- Reducing the price from 300 Baht each to 100 Baht each.
  • Walking all around the capital as a tour guide. "NOT MY JOB".
  • Having to pay 50% for food that I didn't order and I didn't want. If you want somebody to pay half, Ask them first and make sure they order their own food that they want to eat.
  • Watching the other person drink and drink and drink, When I was drinking water. He was drinking beer.
  • Meeting a real nice guy, called Tyson - owns Tyson's Kitchen, who was raised in Canada but born in Thailand to Laotian parents. Going to Canada to escape the carnage of the Vietnam was. Being given Canadian Whiskey with Maple syrup, which tasted incredible.
  • Waiting 2 hours while the guy went for massages.
  • spending 3 hours on LINE with my girlfriend trying to book him a flight to fly back to Bangkok. He had no ATM card, no credit card. Only cash. So my girlfriend had to pay with her credit card. I then had to transfer money back to her account then the guy paid me cash.
  • My girlfriend worked very hard on this, Thank you sweetheart.
  • Meeting a cool guy who was educated in America and Australia. Great intelligent conversation. Thanks Jo Jo.
  • What spoiled it? The other guy grabbing his balls and trying to kiss him. Jo Jo was very pissed off. I was just embarrassed. Totally out of order. He even swapped T-Shirts with him saying that there wasn't another shirt like that anywhere in the world. I never heard the end of this all the way home.
  • Eventually getting to my hotel room at 05:30 and sleeping.
    Day 2.
  • Going down to the lobby to pay for my room - Already paid. He paid my 400 Baht room. I tried to pay him back but he just said that I could pay for the journey back to Bangkok - buses and taxis. All the time still drinking beer after beer. He promised to return the costs when we got to his home. LIE!!!
  • I bought a baguette for breakfast, then walked to the embassy. Paid for my visa and took a taxi to the border.
  • Crossed friendship bridge and bought some yogurt milk in 7/11. He was still drinking beer after beer. I bought tickets for the van.
  • The van was full and waiting to leave, I told him 3 times the van was leaving. He just sat drinking his beer. The passenger weren't happy. He didn't care.
  • Got to Udon Thani, He had no money left so we went to Central, to every bank inside for him to change Laos Kib to Thai Baht. Nobody would change it.
  • I asked at one bank "Do you exchange money" The guy said "Passport" I asked him again and again. The same answer. Guess what they didn't exchange money, so why ask for my passport?
  • Went to a currency exchange at a well known Thai bank, nobody in the exchange but it said open. She was helping somebody at the ATM, that isn't her job if she is exchanging money. Had to wait 15 minutes for her to return. then She said "I can't exchange it", then walked away. Extremely rude staff in all the banks except Siam Commercial Bank.
  • Left Central and went to 7/11 and had to buy him 2 cans of Smirnoff. 130 Baht.Total so far 180 Baht.
  • Took a tuk-tuk to the airport, 100 Baht, Total 230 Baht. arriving at the airport about 18.00
  • He started talking to everyone, boasting about who he was and how famous he was. My job - to buy more beers. another 5 cans of beer at 55 baht each. 275 Baht. Total now 505 Baht.
  • At 20.00 I got my boarding card, the seats were pre-booked and checked in by my girlfriend.
  • went to a currency exchange to change the Kib to Baht. The exact words from the girl behind the counter were "Kib isn't a real currency and can't be exchanged."
  • 20:45 walked to the airport lounge. Baggage was checked. This one stupid guy said my mouth wash was too big and couldn't be taken. On the label was printed 95 ml. the maximum is 100ml. Then he wanted to see my power bank. So I showed him. He said I couldn't take it. WTF, I called Thai Lion before I had left Bangkok and they said it was OK. It was rated at 20,000mA. the maximum is not greater than 32,000mA.I even showed him proof on internet. I will attach the proof. Eventually after me talking with Thai Lion they signed the book to say I could take it as it was in fact 20,000mA. That baggage guy wasn't happy.
  • gave the guy 200 Baht so he could drink more beer. Total 705 Baht.
  • I was standing waiting for the guy to drink more beer so I was playing Line Get Rich on my second telephone, which doesn't have sims in it. The F**KING baggage guy started shouting at me that I couldn't take photos at the airport. I got very mad now and started to shout at him that I was playing a game, there were people near me who could see the game. People like him should be fired. Thinks he is something very important but just causes lots of problems with passengers.
  • Eventually boarded the plane, sat down but found my seat belt had the strap twisted. So it couldn't be worn safely.
  • I asked the cabin crew to please sort it out.
  • this f**king guy took the strap and closed it around me strap twisted and buckle facing me and not away from me.
  • I told him to "F**K OFF, and leave me alone" - This was the job of the cabin crew to sort out as this is safety equipment and is supposed to protect me life. - After about 15 minutes they sorted it out. - This was my right as a passenger to be safe.
  • took off - landed - walked to a taxi. He told the taxi where to go and we arrived at his mother- in-laws house. He went in to get money which took about 20 minutes. He told the taxi driver to take him to the end of the soi, gave him 300 Baht and told me it was enough to pay for the trip home. - then vanished.
  • I told the taxi were to go and he drove.
  • Reaching my home the taxi meter read 480 Baht. So that was another 180 Baht. Total 885 Baht.
  • I told him I had limited funds, he knew this. He is a complete arsehole. I don't care who he is, what he does for a living. He scammed me.
  • The name of this guy is Andy D. (Andrew from New York). I won't put his full name here. But anyone who saw me during those two days will know his full name. They know who I'm talking about.
  • Maybe somebody will also recognize the photo of Tyson's Kitchen

20171018_210511[1].jpg

1508097041657[1].jpg