Disassembling An Electric Piano

in #lassecash2 years ago

image.png

We Have A Problem

Today, as my children did their piano lessons, they noticed a bunch of keys were sticking. They didn't bounce up like normal. And they were making odd noises. This is no good.

Not only that, but some of the keys played softly would unexpectently play full volume. It was so obnoxious that nobody wanted to play. It was like the cartoon, with dynamite hidden under certain keys. BOOM!

image.png

I'll fix it. Today.

Something must be done. So I decide I'm going to fix the piano. I have no experience fixing a broken electric piano, but how hard could it be? We can't afford a professional to fix it, and we certainly can't afford a new electric piano. So?

I'll fix it. Right now. Today.

image.png

Begin Making Some Screws Loose

As I'm unscrewing the back and opening the piano, I begin to wonder if I have a loose screw in my head. What am I doing? Well, I'm opening up the piano.

My wife was very helpful, she gave me sandwich bags to organize the screws and make sure I didn't loose any.

image.png

I had to get the dust cover off and that proved to be trickier than I thought. After some careful observation (and a Youtube video) I was able to get the cover completely off of the keys.

image.png

I find how to remove the control panel and we begin to see the hidden parts of keyboard. We're getting closer to solving the problem.

image.png

I manage to remove the entire keyboard, so I can fix the problem with the keys and the piano gives me my first hint: it's filthy in there!!! I bet it needs a good cleaning!

image.png

This piano has been in use since 2010, so it's gathered a lot of grime over the years. While I disassemble the keys, my wife cleaned up the case.

Getting Closer

I look at bottom of the keys and feel like I'm getting closer to where the prolem is.

image.png

image.png

The rubber pads are what control the volume of the key press, so the problem has something to do with these. The first section looks fine.

image.png

The Problem

Then I found it: the problem. These are full of crumbs!

image.png

I use a can of air to blow all the crumbs and junk out of the rubber pads.

image.png

This is why some notes would play so loudly, the debris was causing the sensor to misfire. BOOM!

image.png

This is the first time being opened since it was brand new. I'm surprised it's not dirtier than this, considering all the children using the piano.

I carefully clean out all the little openings and cautiously begin putting the piano back together again.

image.png

My wife cleaned the other parts well. How did spaghetti noodles get in there???

image.png

Putting It All Back Together

I reversed the process and placed each item back where I found it. Every screw went back in place.

image.png

Once the piano was all together, we plugged it in and held our breath. It worked!!! Better then that, the keys responded so quickly and accurately. They bounced up instantly and there were no sudden loud keys.

IT WAS FIXED!!!

image.png

We were so happy to have a working piano again! All it took was three and a half hours in the middle of a work day... but I got it fixed!

image.png

Everyone was so happy to have a functioning piano again. Whew!!! We have a clean and functional piano for many happy times in the present and the future.

Bless the Most High!


image.png

Benjamin Turner: God fearer. Rooted in Messiah. Husband of @lturner. Father of six wonderful children. The guy behind the camera. Blockchain enthusiast.

Bless the Most High!

image.png

Do You Like Discovering New Content?

ListNerds is a content discovery platform. Members promote content, various products and interesting links. Every click rewards you with MAIL credits to promote whatever content you want to share! If you'd like to learn more, visit Listnerds.com

image.png

Posted using LasseCash

Sort:  

My wife cleaned the other parts well. How did spaghetti noodles get in there???

We bought a Toshiba Satellite A110-110 laptop for my 14th birthday in 2006. Many years later we brought it to the service for cleaning/repairing/upgrading (I do not remember exactly), and the man, who worked on it asked something like "was anyone ate a lunch on this"? A lot of things (including food) can get into the things we use at home. Maybe the kids literally ate the spaghetti noodles above the piano.

It's weird what ends up where, once we start taking things apart.

Maybe the kids literally ate the spaghetti noodles above the piano.

Who knows, more likely one of them had an uncooked noodle and wondered what happens when it's stuck between the keys...

Good work cleaning it out! 😂

Thank you!


Congratulations, @ironshield Your Post Got 100% Boost.
@ironshield Burnt 123.559 UPME & We Followed That Lead.

upme.link

Contact Us : CORE / VAULT Token Discord Channel

Thank you for burning ALIVE tokens and supporting the We Are Alive Tribe, you have earned 5 tickets for our weekly ALIVE Burning Contest.


!ALIVE
!CTP
!LOLZ



Made in Canva

@flaxz - Alive Chat Host on @alive.chat


@ironshield! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveprojects. (8/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I used to work in a blanket factory.
But it folded.

Credit: reddit
@ironshield, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @aliveprojects
The LOLZ Tribe is here! Stake your LOLZ now to earn curation rewards and continue using the !LOLZ command. Please read our latest update for more information.
(8/10)

That's fantastic Benjamin, all it took was a good cleaning, and your wife to keep track of all screws, may it serve your kids well and stay !ALIVE