Why I stopped driving Uber

in #law8 years ago (edited)

I started driving Uber about two years ago. What I quickly learned was that the prime time to make money was at bar close which is 2 am where I live. I made some good money on an average Friday or Saturday night I could bring home $200 or more. What I came to learn is that is a prime time for what the police call investigatory stops.

What is an investigatory stop

The police use a technique to catch people breaking laws by pulling them over for relatively minor traffic violations. These include, not using a blinker, driving a few miles per hour over the speed limit, failing to make a complete stop, and burned out tail lights. The hope being that they will find a drunk driver, drugs in the car, an outstanding warrant, or other more serious offenses. Supporters of this technique claim that Timothy McVeigh, and Ted Bundy were captured using these methods.

When are you at risk for an investigatory stop

The prime time is late at night usually around bar close. Also certain neighborhoods are targeted because they are high crime areas. People who drive older model cars and minorities are also targeted.

How this relates to my experience with Uber

Because of the times I was driving which was bar close and that I really didn’t know what neighborhoods I would be traveling though I was stopped more than 5 times before I hung it up. I was never ticketed and often the officer would say the car smelled of alcohol. That was easy to explain of course because the passenger was often drunk. The police were laying a case for probable cause. In my normal driving to and from work and the like I have not been pulled over for anything. This is due to the fact of the hours I drive, the type of car I drive, the places I go, and my race is also an advantage.

Why this caused me to quit

Being pulled over is a hassle for sure and I don’t believe I was targeted for being an Uber driver. The reason I quit was that it was just a matter of time before I was ticketed and I would be on the hook for it. It seemed the more cautious I was the more suspicious I looked. Also the nature of the work which involves navigating a smart phone while driving and conversing with passengers can lead to distraction. Although the money was good the risk of a ticket that I would need to pay coupled with increased insurance costs made the venture seem too risky. To be honest it is already risky for drivers. Drivers do not get to choose the riders, we can’t see your photos. I picked up people I believed were involved in criminal activity. Again if their drugs are in my car, I get charged. Also my safety was at risk bar close is a prime time for fatal car crashes. Basically I weighed the risk benefit ratio and could not accept the potential costs.

Is an investigatory stop the best method to catch criminals

I would argue that this practice needs to end immediately. Statistics show that the most dangerous thing an officer does is make a traffic stop. More officers are killed in the line of duty making these stops than any other activity. Also I believe it is a violation of the people’s 4th Amendment rights. We can also add that this practice unfairly targets the poor and minorities.

Discussion

Have you been pulled over for a minor traffic offense?
Do you feel investigatory stops are justified?

photo credit
#police #Uber #minnowsunite

Sort:  

I'm very surprised that you get charged if a passenger is carrying drugs. I honestly thought that drivers would be protected against that.

maybe but maybe not. just depends on the cop I guess

I have thought about this a lot, but never wrote about it. Thanks for the acknowledgment! Up-voted!

I enjoyed yours, william. Keep it coming! Upvoted!

"Is an investigatory stop the best method to catch criminals?"

I agree with your stance on this one.

 8 years ago  Reveal Comment

Right I wasn't targeted for being an Uber driver just wrong place wrong time. When they saw I was driving uber they let me go with a warning.