Pita, patty and pasta - all in a day's....

When I shared my next effort at perfecting pita bread, I mentioned that I had one left and that it might make lunch for me.

Speaking of the lentil patties, you might remember that I tried the recipe out about three weeks ago? The patties we didn't eat, I stuck in the deep freeze and because one of our Sunday diners is a longtime vegetarian, I fished out a couple. The good news is that they benefitted from the freezing and the "rest". Our guest only had one (I had baked two), so in addition to the pita, I had a left over patty lurking in the fridge looking for a job.

IMG_20220907_152120_155.jpg

The two together were saying lunch for one. The Husband is usually out on a Wednesday, so that leftover pita bread, tomato, tzatziki and a lentil patty broken into falafel sized bits. Topped with perennial basil, they all became became my lunch.

IMG_20220907_152120_047.jpg

I loved it. My desk, not so much. I scattered lentil bits all over the show. And yes, I know, I shouldn't be eating at my desk...I don't usually...

Supper was, of course, pasta.

IMG_20220908_055224_605.jpg

My friend's ducks are laying again (yay!), so I made the pasta made with a duck egg she delivered yesterday morning

I dressed it with parsley and basil pesto from the garden and served it with slow cooked mushrooms topped with slivers of parmesan style mature gouda from our favourite local cheesery. It's one of my favourite meals of the week - to make and eat. As is the salad antipasti which, this week, included avocado. Because of this I dropped the usual balsamic vinegar, and dressed it in a squeeze of fresh lemon and olive oil.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script

If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.


Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs, images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.
Sort:  

aha well it does look delicious and I ate so it is safe to open your post🤣

And be warned: duck eggs are likely to feature tomorrow 😂

oh now you are just being a tease #justsaying

Congratulations @fionasfavourites! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 11000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 12000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners