You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Day My Father Died :: A Reflection

in #legacy6 years ago

Every time I think of him the memories grow less distinct, more hazy, like grasping for a dream once awake. Haunting, and too familiar! Dammit Neg, you really know how to tug the heart strings! The blockchain, to preserve memories, not just words: there's a thought. Love the photos, and most of all, the feelings behind this. So much is packed into this one post. You're a genius at that! I've rekindled some of the memories I've forgotten of my dad, and passed his memory on to whomever chooses to read this. Yes. The spark has traveled, and lit something in me, and your love for your dad travels now in whoever else takes this via the blockchain.

Sort:  

Thank you for reading, @carolkean! I've never been good at writing down my personal memories in any format (diary, scrapbook, letters, whatever), so this at least gives me a chance to collect my thoughts into something cohesive that resembles what I feel right now, and be able to move on from there.

We don't need to write memoirs to tell our stories. The truth is best told in the guise of fiction, I always say (just ask @rhondak or @jodyewing).
That said... your fiction tends toward the brutal... maybe you're exaggerating. I hope, I hope.
The loss of that Collie dog in your childhood. A few words typed in a Reply section of a story. And I'm so haunted, yet, I'm heading out the door to go walk my own two Collie boys!
Still waiting for some happy endings, Neg - maybe I should challenge you to write a romance with a Disney-happy ending. :-)