CUB Up - HIVE Up - LEO "Up" - Time To Celebrate and Move Past the Traders Remorse Fallacy

in #leo3 years ago

Square Simple.jpg

Things are getting exciting around here. Development Abounds with CUB and CINETV

.
Just wanted to post some gratitude for where I am this at the start of 2021. There are a lot of things I could focus on that went wrong, or I timed wrong, or I could feel like I made mistakes. But I need to take an honest look at how good I have things. This is really just some random rambling thoughts. -

  • I am sitting at 5000 HIVE power, not large, not small, but big enough to make it feel like my vote can make a small impact.

  • I powered up to 1000 - while the vote value is only around .08 LEO it is building slowly. .4 LEO a day! While my automatic curation efforts failed due to HIVE.VOTE not casting votes that are too small. IE. onealfa.leo voting at 2%, and my account only has 40 HP. For now I will do it manually - or move back to senstless.

  • I got in early to CINETV - and the curation has already started rolling in. My 2030 CINE power is already over 2100 - and climbing fast. I may need to actually post over there if I want to keep in the top curators, or content producers may end up passing me pretty quickly.

  • I got my 1 CUB / Day goal after the DEN is boosted to 15x. 225 CUB is pretty impressive to me considering I never did DeFi until today

  • HIVE is $0.73 right now - and was over $1.

  • LEO is $0.81

  • CUB is at $3.5

That is one hell of a month - lets be honest. You don't get many like that.

Fighting my Traders Regret Fallacy.


image.png

Sure - I like many others may initially feel like we made big mistakes on a trade right a pump - or dump. I had some irrational thoughts about my own actions - until someone in the LEO discord dropped some wisdom and got me to reframe everything.

I know I sold 90% of my Splinterland cards for DEC>HIVE>FIAT at the start of the year. Given how the market is looking over at splinterlands I would say that there has been an easy 10-20% gain in card prices from my PROMO/BETA cards.

At the time we were looking for a new house with land closer to some family. After taking a hard look, and seeing what other sacrifices would have to be made to get what we wanted in a property we decided to stay put for the time being. Selling 6k (5k-10k-15K work of HIVE at prices from .25-.45 looks pretty foolish now - after I know it $1.

FAKE LOSSES
But lets be honest, at the time I felt like HIVE was just as likely to dump to .10 as to climb to .50. At the time of my actions I valued the CASH as it gave me more buying power. Clearly it was the best move at the time given what I knew. I thought I may need quick, liquid cash for a real estate transaction. I also wanted to get as risk adverse as I could. I would be upset if I was counting on this money - if it dropped to $3000 - I could get in a hard spot. It was the right move at the time, with the set of facts I had.

Even after the pump it is not all bad, we are going to go a vacation, and buy a fridge - if there is any left - I may get it back into crypto.

HIVE for LEO
I traded HIVE for LEO the NIGHT before it went off... that's right, I was over on Hive-Engine paying 2+ HIVE for each LEO for my 119 LEO. Seems foolish now doesn't it. But I can't look at it in the current price. I had HIVE I wasn't using, I wanted LEO. Done Deal.

False "Losses"
I could have also spent FIAT to Buy the ETH I needed to buy the LEO. If I had done this - none of the price moves actually matter. I would be happy I bought the LEO and increased my state. I have to view my trade as if HIVE was really a STABLE fiat coin at the time of the transaction. This was not a trade, it was a purchase. Sure I could buy double the power today as I did the prior day - but not in terms of fiat.

Would Have - Could Have - If Only - I Would Be Rich, ETC

Sure - I could have never sold my BTC, or HIVE, or STEEM or whatever. But I did, and it felt right at the time. I could have won the lottery too, but didn't. I am going to try to learn from my 20/20 hindsight and use it to mold my future decisions, not dwell on what what was likely to never be even if I changed that 1 transaction. If I didn't buy LEO with HIVE, I would have blow that Cheap HIVE on something else.

Each trade, or purchase I make is the the best information and understanding and circumstances at that time. We can't be Biff in Back to the Future with all the
sports scores for the next 50 years.

I think instead I am going to sit back - relax and be thankful for what I have. I will keep looking for new opportunities, and making the best decisions I can make as I move forward.

image.png

image 1
image 2
image 3

Sort:  

And just keep accumulating as you go. Prices are still cheap and the potential is still huge. You're in Cub with a large enough stake to make a difference if it runs and also a big enough stake to be gaining more every day. Pretty good spot. I applaud your wisdom. As with every good lesson in life, they're almost always learned the hard way. lol If I had a nickel for every one of those lessons, I wouldn't need crypto. lol Good post!! The future is bright...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Exactly - We are still in early adopter stage but it feels like we might be coming to an end. The best time to buy crypto was "yesterday", the second best is today. in 5-10 years these price movements will look small and insignificant.

Agree still in early. I have not got into cup yet though. Too busy to figure it out. I kinda missed the whole leo thing from the start. I hope some of these other tribes I am in have a bright future too.

I think some of them do. The thing is, if Cub and Leo take off that will add a ton of value to the whole ecosphere. The more value created there, the more some of that capital will spill over into other projects, raising them as well. That really is the great thing about Hive: when one of us wins, we all win.

PS. Not too late on either Cub or Leo. I'm still buying both here. And Cup is free money. Seriously, figure out a way to get a few anyway. You can double your stake by literally doing nothing.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I need to hop on . I will try and figure that out this weekend!

Love the fact that when some of win we all win. Go HIVE.

If you need help let me know. They have super great documentation and if you need help I can see what I can do.

I think LEO and CUB is the reason why there will be some money willing to join new communities and support their growth. As we move towards more tokennomics I think these communities will just growth in popularity.

good to see you still posting every now and then man. Hope all is well.

Yeah - LEO got me to stay and give it another shot. Having the price pump never hurts either!

Remorse (esp. in trading), is an exercise in indulging pointless negative perspectives - and ones that do you no favors, going forwards

Well - when you put it that way. You are right, and its great advise, but for some reason no matter how much I know it doesn't help, It is hard to get your self out of that mental spiral.

You need some alternative advice - speaking of which, this is the first part in a series!
...enjoy!

https://peakd.com/hive-168088/@lucylin/the-alternative-self-help-guide-a-series-part-1-laughter

Well at least thinking about it is a start, actually doing it is another matter.
My numbers and balances still make me a small fry so I don't fret and sweat what I don't have.
Always curious of what the big boys do.
Regards

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Small Fry - you and I have almost the same stake!!! Not to mention you didn't quit blogging for a year and probably have a lot more connections and community.

Either way - if we keep stacking building it up - we won't be small fry forever.

It is this year I can actually Upvote 100% more than the Dust threshold 0.03 that kept me feeling small all this time. This is the milestone that had eluded me. The feeling that my vote isn't worth spit for so long.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta