Vintage Silver Highlights, 1983 Type 1 Kregerrand Commerorative Silver round

in #leolast month


SHARE YOUR BATTLE MAGI NECROSI (3) (2).jpg

Collection Highlights -

Back with another interesting vintage silver round today. This is the 1983 South African Krugerrand type 1. This round wall has many similarities to the South African Krugerrand series it was not minted by the South African Mint. There were at least two different private mints who minted these in 1983 one is thicker and has two lines on the reverse saying one troy ounce of fine silver while the other only uses two lines. Type 1 was also produced in fractional sizes of a quarter a half 1/10 and 1 g sizes. It's interesting they got away with making a commemorative coin that is so similar to the current series and not run into too much legal trouble, or if they did I didn't see anything mentioning that.

Agroundworld.com 1983 Type 1

6VvuHGsoU2QCK6yq1XKF2z9F8sayRpwConx4qLB6jE9hzGT9Tv7Ty4L49JPMX8izzZCZLGYKt6kP2ErCVE4wdZg97xWnZ9YmqPdyHeMFZHoFpjHTo42W4SNEL4D6q3.gif

Obverse

image.png
This is a nice portrait of Paul Kruger. I am most impressed with the beard that that man supposedly had, that is a full-on ZZ top style beard. No idea if it was actually that impressive in person but I love the fact that he rocked it for his look. Again this is like the last round I posted, I typically don't like celebrating people but this has more to do with the founder of company than it does politicians and politics so I can get behind it.

Reverse

image.png

Very similar reverse has the image of the springbok antelope. As you can see this is a type 1 since it has three lines to describe the purity inscription. A type two round only uses two lines for the purity inscription. This is some good detail and is a nice image of the antelope. I'm not sure why 1983 was so special why they minted rounds less than 20 years on the commemorative series. Either way I think it's pretty nice.

They did start an official South African Mint series in I believe 2017 that I looked at fine. The only problem was at the time premium they wanted for the Silver version was just too high to justify as I was still picking up super cheap 39 or 49 cent over spot deals in the hay day. Now that the premiums have shot up everywhere they might be worth another look for collecting.

image.png

Sort:  

Looks pretty cool sort of like the face on this one looks so serious 😂 !BBH !LOLZ

@senstless! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (15/50)

What's the difference between a well-dressed man and a tired dog?
The man wears an entire suit, the dog just pants.

Credit: reddit
@senstless, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of bitcoinman

(7/10)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

You received an upvote of 86% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

It is pretty! I wonder who minted it.

I’ll find it. There was a mint that did all the world and US coin like that. I have a couple. I wrote it on the flip once I find one.