Columbian Half Dollar ~ A U.S. Commemorative Coin

in #leofinance4 years ago (edited)

Inspired by a post by @silversaver888, I headed out to my local coin store to add to my stack. I normally stick to the "junk" silver, but I've always got my eye out for something unique. I'm not a coin collector, per se, so it doesn't take much to qualify as "unique" for me. Today, I grabbed this Columbian Half Dollar.

img_8584.jpg

According to Wikipedia:

"The Columbian half dollar is a coin issued by the Bureau of the Mint in 1892 and 1893. The first traditional United States commemorative coin, it was issued both to raise funds for the 1893 World's Columbian Exposition and to mark the quadricentennial of the first voyage to the Americas of Christopher Columbus, whose portrait it bears."

img_8585.jpg

The Columbian half dollar was the first American coin to depict a historical person. The coin stems from the desire of the Columbian Exposition's organizers to gain federal money to complete construction of the fair. Congress granted an appropriation, and allowed it to be in the form of commemorative half dollars, which legislators and organizers believed could be sold at a premium. Fair official James Ellsworth wanted the new coin to be based on a 16th-century painting he owned by Lorenzo Lotto, reputedly of Columbus, and pushed for this through the design process."

The public's interest in the coin wasn't as great as the fair organizers had hoped. Of the 5,000,000 coins struck, half ended up being melted down. Fewer than 400,000 were sold at the premium price, and the rest were circulated, showing up in cash drawers and people's pockets as late as the 1950s. The circulated coin I bought today went for a small amount over its melt value of $9.95. I paid $25 fiat for this commemorative coin, a nice 1944 Walking Liberty Half Dollar, and a shiny Roosevelt Dime.


kunschj_hive.png

Thanks @sinlg for my name in gold!


ecency_logo.gif


Sort:  

Good pickup my friend! 😎

Thanks! I appreciate your taking a look.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 21 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

Thanks for that, Pix!

Woot, woot! We love ship coins! That coin is on my wish list. Congrats snagging that one, @kunschj! And you are so lucky to have an LSC near to you. I am jelly!
Thanks for the mention, my friend. STACK ON!
BTW, may I suggest that you [edit] this article, and add the tag #silvergoldstackers, the [update] so that it will show up on the #silvergoldstackers feed.
Have a beautiful Saturday, and take care 🥰🌺🤙

Thanks. The coin was in a tray with Franklins, Walking Liberties, Kennedy’s, and even a Barber or two. He had two in the tray, but the other “wasn’t supposed to be in there.” I got a couple of Stone Mountain halves from him last year. I guess in the interest of cancel culture I should melt them, and this one with Columbus on it ;-)

Are you a pourer, @kunschj??? I just posted an article showing some hand-poured silver! Check it out if you have the time, my friend 🥰🌺🤙

🎁 Hi @kunschj! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @silversaver888!

@silversaver888 wrote lately about: Why I Stack American Eagles: Gold & Silver Feel free to follow @silversaver888 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I forgot to tell you that the #silvergoldstackers needs to be one of the first FOUR tags to appear on the page. If you don't und, @kunschj, do it again! May I suggest that you switch positions of #columbianhalfdollar and #silvergoldstackers, my friend!
And also, did I tell you that I love 😍 your GOLD Hive @kunschj banner!

Nice coin @kunschj! That one is on my short list.

Posted Using LeoFinance

Thanks for checking it out. I hope you get one!

saludos amigos,cuidese,Dios lo bendiga,yo aqui sobreviviendo a esta situacion de hambre que nos esta atacando al venezolano un abrazo,no se olvide de mi amigo