You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quick update about Hive-related activities at Oklahoma State University

in #leofinance2 years ago (edited)

I am doing my best to expose students to the concepts they need to know and grasp to be able to excel at creating value for others, which is the essence of capitalism and free enterprise. And, I believe blockchain represents a huge part of that. And, I believe Hive is one of the best and most robust ecosystems for blockchain-based development and experimentation.

What is desperately needed, imho, is an elegant solution for private key management. Every semester, I have students who lose their private keys, despite my repeated efforts to inform them how to safeguard their keys.

I would love to have more time and resources to devote specifically to solving this problem. However, as you point out, it might end up being one of our students who develops such a solution. Once that happens, look out, because the flood gates will be wide open.

@arcange's HiveAuth is and excellent service with huge potential. I look forward to seeing it gain widespread adoption.

Sort:  

Not in general, but in a college course setting, perhaps the students should be required to put their keys on thumb drives that they put in sealed envelopes with their names on them, and hand to you for safe keeping at the beginning of the semester, right after they create their Hive accounts. When final grades have been asigned, they get their envelopes back. Not elegant, nor automated, but at least it might be effective, till a better solution can be implemented.

The biggest obstacle for Hive reaching a broader audience is precisely that "the password thing is too complicated!" We live in a "log in with Facebook" world.

=^..^=

Posted using Proof of Brain

The biggest obstacle for Hive reaching a broader audience is precisely that "the password thing is too complicated!" We live in a "log in with Facebook" world.

That’s why an elegant solution for key management coupled with HiveAuth could upend the world.

hand to you for safe keeping at the beginning of the semester, right after they create their Hive accounts

I’ve kinda done that. This semester I created their accounts for them, using my own Account Creation Tokens. The i give them their Master Password and tell them how to reset their Master Password and retrieve and store their private keys.

That way, my account is the recovery account, so I should theoretically be able to help them reset their keys if they lose them. I haven’t done this yet, in practice, though.