Kids should want in life

in #lessons5 years ago

Growing up, I always heard "I work hard so my kids will never want anything." I like this but unless broken down i disagree. I work hard so my kids will never need anything. I want my kids to want. I need them to want. Without that what are they going to grow up to be? I want to teach them a work ethic so they can earn and achieve whT they want in life. If we as parents hand them everything, what will that teach them? I dont want them to be dependent on anyone, especially the government. I want them to know that thru hard work and not giving up they can have anything they "want." I feel as they grow up in this bullshit "trophy" generation that kids will expect way too much. I dont hype my daughter up when she loses in sports or doesnt come in first place. I ell her im proud of how hard she worked and I'll help her get better so she can dominate next time but if we give every loser a trophy and tell them they are still a winner it takes away from the kid that actually won. It teaches them that no matter how much they suck at 1 thing, it doesnt matter. Life does notwork like that.

All im saying is we need to start saying "I bust my ass so my kids will never need anything." BecUse truth is.... with out a want there is no drive to progress.

Sort:  

Congratulations @reticwolf! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!