You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I heard gay slurs every night in my Toronto hockey league A timekeeper tells about the pervasive homophobia he witnessed on the ice during his 12 years with the rec league.

in #lgbt6 years ago

I can well remember being a confidently out gay man in my workplace and discovering that I wasn't the direct victim of homophobia; my heterosexual colleagues were, because they supported me.

Changing the prevailing culture has to be approached on a number of levels, and it sounds like this film shows that process in an environment which has a strong macho culture, making it all the more powerful. I'm going to look for a trailer, and hope it will soon be available here in Europe

Vince, you deserve credit for not only making this, but also by standing up for your friend and for the wider LGBT community when you could have just ignored what was going on. We need more people like you!

Sort:  

Thanks for the kind words. Do you know the former NHL player George Laraques? I remember he told the CBC that he had gay teammates but they were afraid to come out. The culture is shifting. Andrew Shaw got suspended when he used a gay slur. I made a promo trailer. Its on facebook. You can find it under Highway 401 film. Thanks for the support.