What did your parent request you to do as a kid that you now realized was age inappropriate?

in #lifechain6 years ago (edited)

“The effect of bringing up a child in the way he or she should grow”

I’m uneager to write this because I don’t see anything wrong with what they did. But it was, I guess, kind of age inappropriate. I think we need to know the power of parents and how we affect our kids mindset! Let’s talk about this, I need your views on this topic.

They didn’t allow me to do this. They taught me how, and asked me to do it. From age 7 I was old enough to pour a beverage in a glass, I was making cocktails for my parents. I remember making them around age eight so it might have started earlier than that time.
My dad liked scotch on the rocks, I called it “the cracker”. That was super easy. Just fill a short glass with ice and top with scotch. My mom liked liquor with pop, like rum and coke, rye and ginger ale, or gin and lemon-lime. That was pretty easy too. Fill a tall glass with ice, then a bit of booze, then top with soda. I also opened bottles of wine and poured glasses of it. I knew a properly served glass of wine is only about 1/4 full before I struck puberty.
I loved it, especially the mixed drinks because I got to drink whatever pop was left in the can afterwards. I didn’t get to drink much pop as a kid so that was a treat.
I made drinks for other adults who came over for visit or vacay, mostly relatives. I don’t remember anyone finding it odd or rather call it fluky.
And obviously, yes, I tasted alcohol as a child. I didn’t even sneak it. I don’t remember the specifics but my parents allowed me to try a sip of rum and coke or something like that, and I hated it. They knew I would hate it. I couldn’t fathom why anyone would ruin coke like that, and they just said adults like to drink it that way. (They never got drunk around me, so I didn’t really make the connection between the one or two drinks they’d have and the drunkenness I’d seen on TV and in movies:)
I think this was a amazing way to introduce their child to alcohol. It wasn’t some mysterious, dangerous, enticing thing to me. It was bittersweet, enjoyable, and entirely commonplace. If there’s one thing I I’ve learned it’s you to take it easy in life, too serious that sort of thinkin that been keepin us chained
At the bottom and hanged
he strangest fruit that you ever seen, ripe with pain. The moment you loose the ability to laugh and goof up, even when times are tough, is the moment you lose your sight of what this life is all about.
I drink because I want to. I smoke weed like am blowing the dust, make sure “I go to the moon” sometimes I just want to escape being sober, in a world with different level of de*on! I try to find the joy in every day. I wasn’t forbidden from doing it, and that meant I had nothing to rebel against. As a result, I never had a real rebellious phase.
But I can definitely see why some people might raise an eyebrow at a seven year old tending bar for her parents, ridiculous right? I know, that’s is life for you.

Let’s live! Raising a grateful glass of bourbon to liferoot🥃

Sort:  

Congratulations @joshuaoj! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!