Binitinan Elementary School (BES) BATCH ‘87 REUNION

in #lifestory6 years ago (edited)

1 batch 87.jpg
||Motorcade stopped over and took a picture at the town park||

1 Our Theme.jpg
||Our Theme:
"Footprints in the sand: Reminiscing our past after 31 years, looking towards our future today.”||

We just recently held our BES Batch ’87 Reunion on July 28, 2018 at Hardrock Lux Spring Resort, Balingasag, Misamis Oriental, Northern Mindanao, Philippines. (BES stands for Binitinan Elementary School. It is loacted in Binitinan, balingasag, Misamis Oriental, Philippines.) The title of our Reunion is “HIMAMAT” Cebuano word which means “how are you?”. This Reunion was planned by our organizers in order to see each other once again, gather together, talk and enjoy. Binitinan Elementary School 1st Reunion Batch ‘87 “Mga tunob sa lapyahan: Pagbalik-lantaw sa kagahapon human sa 31 ka tuig, paglantaw sa umaabot nato karon.” ("Footprints in the sand: Reminiscing our past after 31 years, looking towards our future today.”

Last night, the 27th of June, I prepared my things so I can travel earlier and attend the motorcade on time. I sat for a while and recalled…

Further than 31 years, our story began 36 years ago (almost 2 decades).

It was like this time of the year that I was acquainted with my new classmates in the room of Ms. Ignacia V. Corona, our Grade 3 teacher in 1983. Ms. Corona’s neice, Cecile Corona, was one of our classmates but the latter transferred to Balingasag Central School later on that year. I was just also a transferree from Bohol but I had my first Grade completed here in Binitinan Elementary School. (In 1982, our family just moved to Bohol for a year for some important reasons. I remembered my mother told me that it’s too late to transfer to Bohol, that without enough requirements for transfer, I cannot be admitted in Bunga Elementary School, Bunga, Jagna, Bohol(Jagna pronounced as “Hagna”). I insisted. She told me to enroll myself if I’m interested. So, I went to the Grade 2 Adviser in Bunga Elementary School. The adviser told me that I’m not qualified to transfer because I lacked some requirements. I just keep asking her and my persistence resulted in my admission there as a “visitor”. The rest is another story. The teacher admitted me and enjoyed my presence that when I left her class before I went back to Binitinan, she wept and hug me while they sung the song “Good luck, good health, God bless you.” (it’s a song we knew during those days).

In Binitinan, Ms. Corona was not only our class adviser but also the trainor in Music. She has one of the finest voices I ever heard in my life and she was still single at the age of 39! She was beautiful then and had a stable job being a public school teacher but I think she had high standards in choosing a future husband. Nevertheless, she had trained one of the good singers in our batch, Felixberto Maestre whom she taught well to sing the song, “Ako ay Filipino” (I am a Filipino), a patriotic song taught to us in order to develop patriotism. At times when Ms. Corona led the national anthem during our flag ceremony, I cannot help myself but appreciate the way she managed her hands and fingers in beating as she led the entire school in singing the national anthem. From her eyes you can see confidence and optimism. She lifted her pupils up higher than what we expected. It was during her advisory that I joined the Spelling Bee Contest held in Balingasag Central School. Many elementary schools participated that time for it was held in the District Level. I represented the Grade 3 pupils of our school. After the Contest, I knew that I was chosen as one among the pupils who won the contest and the award was given with applause. I won the Third Place. We went home. On the next day, after our Flag Ceremony, it was announced that a reward is to be given to the winners of the Contest in Central School. I was surprised for I received another award from the teaching staff of Binitinan Elementary School. I was very happy that time. Thanks to the teachers! Thanks to Ma’am Corona!

3 Mary Ann, Titalyn, Ms. Corona, Flor, Ramil & Mr. Mabayo.jpg
|| Mary Ann, Titalyn, Ms. Corona (our mentor), Flor(Organizer and our batch commander -in-chief), Ramil & Mr. Mabayo (our mentor) ||

We were under Ms. Teresita Abuzo when we were in Grade Four-A. The adviser of Grade Four-B was Ms. Vallejos. Grade Four A & B rooms were adjacent to each other. The children from the other room used to play with the pupils from the neighboring room. The boys played with boys, the girl as played with the girls but there are times when the boys played with girls especially in “Batin-Batin”, “Lakag-lakag” or “Patintero”. These games were played in groups. It was during this year that I suffered an injury at my right foot which had a cut when I stomp on a broken glass along some areas beyond our school fence. Boys played rubber bonds we call “Lastiko” and also marbles we call “Jolen”. There was also “Kundise” where at the end of the game, the loser will run from a farther place towards the hole while shouting “Shatoooom….”. Girls played “Jackstone” with their rubber balls and star-shaped plastic objects. Some girls also liked to play “Chinese Garter”. We also played “Tago-tago” (Hide and Seek).

When we were in Grade Five, we were under Ms. Fe Oche. I think, she was married that year to Mr. Vitancor. So, she became Mrs. Fe Vitancor and when she gave birth to her firstborn child, our class was once again handled by Ma’am Teresita. So, in the 2 succeeding years in elementary, we were under the same adviser.

It was in Grade 6-A that we were under Mrs. Linda Gayramon. The other pupils were under Mr. Arthur Mabayo (Grade 6-B) and Mrs. Gertrudes Mundo (Grade 6-C), the wife of Mr. Ciricio Mundo. Our principal through these years was Mr. Maximo D. Miral. I still remembered the time when I broke a plate at Mr. Mundo’s house and my hands were shaking because he was too strict. He came to me and said, “Just get another plate so you can get another food.” Mr. Mundo was the “disciplinarian” in our school. I presumed that most of our classmates can still remember the plots we had along the garden situated outside our school fence. We planted Ipil-ipil there. Most of the boys wanted to tease Mr. Mundo by running away from the Practical Arts class. They want to call Mr. Mundo and as the teacher went near to them, they ran away! Mr. Mundo always bring a small stick with him in his right hand to remind as that we should behave well. We behaved well. Thus, 31 years ago, we graduatd from elementary school. And now…

2 The balloons and my batchmates were here but where am I.jpg
||The balloons and my classmates were here but where am I?||

I woke up early in the morning of the 28th of July. My clothes and things were already packed up the night before. I was about to go outside after I say goodbye to my wife but the heavy rain which resulted in flooding of the canal beside the road sent me back inside the house. After a few minutes, the rain stopped and it was already 6 o’clock a.m. I rushed to the terminal and found a public utility van there with some passengers inside and in a few minutes the vehicle left for Benoni Sea Port. Passenger ships were waiting at Benoni Port but none of them left up until 9 o’clock in the morning. I arrived Balingoan Port in Misamis Oriental an hour after we left Benoni.

I rode on a bus hoping I can join the motorcade which began at 6 a.m.

4 AT THE GATE.jpg
||My batchmates and Mr. Mabayo posing at the gate of our Alma Mater||

I was informed through message that the program began with a motorcade from Hermano (the last Barangay of Balingasag) and then around the town plaza of Balingasag. Then the group arrived Hardrock Lux Spring Resort where they held the rest of the party. It was a momentous event. When they arrived that very beautiful place, I was still in the bus.

I was not able to join the motorcade. It’s impossible for me to reach a 15 kilometer motorcade which started at 6 a.m. while I was still at home more than 60 kilometers away and have to ride on a ship first! But thanks to my classmates! They’ve given me a reward: I lead the Prayer/Grace before Meals at 12 o’clock noon and at the program I won the prize for being the farthest batchmate to join the program.

5 AT THE TOWN PARK.jpg
||Stopped by the town Park in Balingasag||

Fortunately, after 31 years since we left Binitinan Elementary School (BES) in 1987, Ms. Corona is still here in Balingasag. That’s why we were able to invite her to our Batch Reunion. We were so happy that she attended our Reunion but we were so surprised!

Among the batchmates present at our Reunion, 2 beautiful ladies are still single: Ms. R.J. and Ms. M.R. Though most of our classmates asked “Why?”, Ma’am Corona encouraged them and painted beautiful smiles on our lips when she revealed that she got married already! She is now 74 years old. (I think, if I heard it right she just married at her 60’s).

As I stand at a distance, I watched around this beautiful resort. It has swimming pools, slides, fountains, statues such as the Hulk, the Merlion, an Elephant where water flows thrugh its mouth, etc.

I entered the hall reserved for us. I saw Mr. Mabayo, Ms. Corona and Ms. Gayramon. I approached them and greeted with my habitual “Mano Po” (I get each of our teacher’s right hand and put on top of my head, asking silently for blessing).

I still remember Mr. Mabayo instructing Boy Scouts in our class in the past.

Public elementary schools are composed of boys and girls. Pupils are trained to be responsible and active in social aspect. The girls were trained like the boys. That is why we had a group of Boy Scouts and a group of Girl Scouts with their motto: LAGING HANDA (ALWAYS PREPARED). They looked so nice in their uniforms. They looked like little soldiers. I still remember my classmate Robinson Salon wearing his clean uniform like a little soldier with his comrades. Among the girls were Marife, Flordeliz, Helen, Titalyn and more. The girls were under the instruction of Ms. Esperanza Cagalawan. The boys were under Mr. Arthur Mabayo. I think, Ariel and Junjun were also BSP members. I mentioned their names because these same persons who were socially active during our childhood years are still the ones who are active in social activities of our batch until today. They were the organizers of this Reunion. Ironically, the boys lead no longer but the girls does! Yes, this Reunion was organized by the girls I mentioned. They were the ones who made this event a very enjoyable, refreshing and memorable Reunion.

11 BATCHMATES AND ME.jpg
||My batchmates and me||

I really love my batch in elementary and my loyalty to them was revealed when even if I studied my first 2 years in High School sponsored by Philippine Packing Corporation (PPC now DMPI, Del Monte Philippines Incorporated) in a private Catholic School managed by nuns, I voluntarily transferred to the public school where my elementary classmates were studying. I missed them.

During this Reunion, we are so lucky to have Mr. Arthur Mabayo, Grade 6-B Adviser and Boy Scouts Instructor. He is still energetic and social at the age of 77. His son, Jess, who is also our classmate is with us, too.

Ms. Linda Gayramon, our Grade 6-A Adviser is also here with us. She is the youngest among the 3 mentors present. She is just 70 years old.

We had our lunch.

6 MEALS.jpg
||I lead the Prayer: Grace before Meals at Lunch time, just a few minutes when I arrived.||

Thanks to Ariel, the lechon we ate tasted so good. Thanks to the food also prepared by the ladies. It was a very festive meal prepared by my batchmates and take note: Flor, our “commander in chief” in this party, warned us not to drink wine before 2 o’clock in the afternoon, that is, after each of us had already re-introduced ourselves to each other.

After our lunch, we had the program proper. I was tasked as the “emcee”. So, I called Mr. Mabayo first to declare his impression regarding this party. Ms. Gayramon and Ms. Corona followed. The 3 of them imparted to us their insights and appreciation for this unique event.

As planned, our batchmates came to the microphone and expressed their thoughts on this activity. All of them are smart. I said to myself, “We have really gone too far but thanks to my generous batchmates whose feet are still on the ground, humbly brought us together and gave us a gift more than anything else, and that is joy.” Most of us did not swim in the pool after the program but the generous provider of this venue swam like a mermaid in the pool with her kids. Marife was lucky to have 5 kids. And thanks to her. She did not forget us amidst the prosperity she acquired through her efforts. She is a friend of one of the owners of this beautiful Resort.

7 Rafisura twin (Maricris & Marife ), Fe, Rosalie and Helen.jpg
||The R twins (Maricris and Marife), Fe (Organizer), Rosalie and Helen (Organizer)||

At 3 o’clock in the afternoon, most of our batchmates prepared to go back home, tired but happy and satisfied with our Reunion.

8 FARTHEST.jpg
||Thanks for giving me this award, as the participant from the farthest residence!||

Titalyn asked our teachers to get inside her new car so she can drive them safely home. Our batchmates rode on the vehicle of Jocelyn. Ariel was the incharge of jocelyn’s vehicle. He drove some of my batchmates home. Some batchmates rode on the vehicle of Junjun. It was a very nice gathering, limited in time but our joy is immeasurable. Before we went home, Junjun, Helen and me had a little conversation. They were so happy that after 31 years, I finally went “home” to share happiness once again with my batchmates.

9 NEW CAR AND TWINS.jpg
||Titalyn (Organizer), the R twins(Maricris and Marife)

As I recalled, only 21 classmates were present but Ramil and Noel went home ahead of us and earlier before lunch. Other batchmates present were Flordeliz, Marife, Titalyn, Helen, Rochel, Rolyn, Saragen, Juvelyn, Floramie, Mary Ann, Rosalie, Maricris, Marife, Gina, Maryjane, Ariel, Jess, Junjun and me. Our teachers present were Ms. Ignacia V. Corona, Ms. Erlinda Gayramon, Mr. Arthur Mabayo. Thanks to our Organizers.

Our batchmates who were informed but were not able to come in this Reunion expressed their desire to join hopefully next year.

10 OUR MENTORS.jpg
||Our mentors in elementary: Mr. Mabayo, Ms. Corona and Ms. Gayramon.||

Picture Credits to my batchmates: Flor, Fe, Titalyn, and Maricris