Celebrations: Chistmas in July

in #lifestyle6 years ago

christmas-decoration-1106402_640.jpg

I know that Christmas in July isn’t truly a holiday but it is something that my family and I celebrate. Our celebration is something small we only put up stockings and leave out cookies for Santa (as he and Mrs. Clause are headed to their water skiing vacation before they really have to get things ready for Christmas). As thanks, they leave something small in our stockings. It may be silly but Christmas in our house is a big deal and as my daughter says, “We just can’t let go of Christmas.”

Recently I’ve been wondering where Christmas in July came from, was it just something that salespeople came up with as a marketing ploy or more to it? With these questions, I began my research. The first recording of anyone celebrating the holiday is a girl’s camp in North Carolina, Camp Keystone in July of 1933. They had a Christmas tree, presents, and a Santa. Seven years later a comedy movie called Christmas in July which brought the rest of the nation the concept of the celebration. It wasn’t until the 1950’s that advertisers picked up on the idea of creating sales using the Christmas in July theme. This is the way most people think of it as a marketing gimmick and not so much as something to celebrate.

Celebrating is something that I think even just something small is important. I don’t think that we do enough of it. There you to be Thanksgivings for all sorts of things to bring our community together and celebrate with one another. That is a big reason that my family does it. To take a moment and celebrate with one another. We have separated so much from one another that I don’t feel like there is much community in our lives. Most of us have to deal with a job and their home life and feel that is enough. We don’t even know our neighbor’s names half the time.

So is there something like this that you and yours celebrate? When was the last time you did something that was about being with others and enjoying things together? Is there something that you wish you could do now?

Our Christmas in July is on its way and I wish all of you joy and festivities. Even if it's only going and having a drink with someone, celebrate.

May your stars shine brightly on you.

(Image is from https://pixabay.com)

Sort:  

That's cute that you guys celebrate Christmas in July actually. I did not know the history of it before reading this post. Yeah I agree I think that there should be even more holidays to spend with family. Christmas in December is definitely a big deal in my family and we try to celebrate as much holidays as we can and try to have as much cookout and family parties as possible.

Thanks for sharing :)

Family time is great. Sharing celebritions is one of my favorite things to do so I love to include friends too.

Yeah that's definitely great! Memories are what makes us and shapes us over time, and it is important that there are lots of good ones.

Summer feels like such a long time between holidays, and the fourth just isn't the same as gifting holidays like easter, christmas, birthdays....
What date do you celebrate Christmas in July on?

Depends on what is going on either the weekend before or after the 25th of July. Looks like this year will be after.