AN EPIC GUIDE TO QUIT SMOKING FOR A STRESS FREE LIFESTYLE

in #lifestyle7 years ago (edited)

Smoking was cool at one point in time because back then scientists and doctors as well as the general public who consumed these filthy cancer sticks didn't really know how harmful they were to the human body.

For a long period of time, smokers were permitted to light one up and puff away on airplanes, restaurants, in commercial buildings and almost anywhere imaginable.

So much has changed since then - and now that we're in the 21st century its no secret that cigarettes are cancer causing devil sticks that will eventually make you ill.

I was once a smoker and gave up cigarettes because I succumbed to the effects of nicotine and nicotine dependency.

cigarettes-83571_960_720.jpg

For a long time I have always wanted to quit smoking. And whats interesting is, throughout the 9 years that I smoked and I am only 27 years old as I am writing this blog, I have experienced some permanent negative side effects of smoking. One being tinnitus. For those of you who don't know what Tinnitus is, it is a sound that you hear in one or both of your ears that can either be a swooshing sound, loud constant ringing, "bubble popping" sound or low frequency buzzing or humming sound.

unfortunately I got the shitty end of the stick because my Tinnitus happens to be a high pitched ringing sound that never goes away. The only time I am unaware of it is when I am sleeping. Otherwise it is just there and I am forced to deal with it as there is no cure for this condition.

So, you want to quit? Well, as the title says, this is a guide -- my guide on how to quit smoking.
My whole perspective on quitting is simple. So lets get started.

The first general rule of quitting is: YOU MUST WANT TO QUIT - otherwise you can forget about it.

The second rule is you have to be in the right mindset. There are certain techniques you can do to alter your way of thinking because lets not forget here, cigarettes are an addiction and that is why you must tackle it in the form that it comes in-- which is mind, body, and payoff.

Essentially for smokers, the first thing we do when we wake up is we think about having our morning coffee with a cigarette. This would fall under mind.

Then comes the physical craving of a cigarette. If you don't have one you become dizzy or fatigued. The migraines start, and then you becone irrational and agitated. This would be considered body.

And at last , payoff. You have your cigarette and you're satisfied for a period of time. Everything is "normal" the birds are chirping the sun is shining, your next door neighbors are waking you up from a loud love making session but yet you're relieved because you had your nicotine fix. This is payoff.

Its a 3 step cycle that goes on and on for a number of years until YOU break the cycle.

So, lets start with thinking. When I decided to quit smoking everything I would do in the morning I would do backwards. So for example, if my morning started like this I.E. : smoke, coffee, eat, shower, brush teeth, I would brush teeth, shower, eat, and have juice. This way, I'm forcing myself to get out of the habit of having a smoke first thing in the morning. That way by the time you're done your morning routine you're occupying your mind with something else.

As for body, the physical withdrawal of a cigarette can be bad for some. Nicotine is a damned funny drug. For me, I would start moving my toes as if I'm anxious, and I start to feel a bit "weird" for a lack of better words. I start getting migraines, and I become easily irritated, as well as fatigued.

The way I combated these gnarly withdrawal symptoms is by simply keeping busy. Keeping busy is absolutely fundamental because 1. you are distracting your mind from thinking about having a cigarette and 2. you are ignoring your withdrawal symptoms because you are preoccupied with whatever it is that you are keeping busy with. Please bare in mind that Nicotine withdrawals are only temporary and it will diminish because the human body is such an amazing machine that it will repair itself with a little TLC.

macro-1840490_960_720.jpg

Payoff. As for the satisfactory factor, smokers are satisfied briefly after a cigarette. Why? Because it is a stress reliever. BUT is it really? And if so, for how long? It is a temporary reliever yes, but does it solve problems? No. It truly does not.
Now that I am cigarette free, payoff for me takes on another meaning. Payoff to me, now means rewarding myself with my actual real normal life back. Enjoying breathing again, smelling again, food taste different now, food taste better, and its actually true!

If you can overcome these few hurdles you are well on your way to a healthier lifestyle. If you just try and alter the way you think, you CAN quit smoking COLD TURKEY for good.

Quitting smoking takes will power, and folks, as they say - Mind over matter.

I wish you luck, success, and if you fail, keep trying believe in yourself and DON'T give up!

no_smoking_sign_clip_art_23316.jpg

Love, peace, serenity
Kaila

Sort:  

Congratulations @arh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @arh! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @arh! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!