New Experiences & Opportunities during the Corona Lockdown

in #lifestyle4 years ago

Spanner after spanner thrown in the works

This Corona lockdown has some serious implications for almost everyone... Those of us in the events & entertainment industries started feeling the pinch a few weeks prior when "social distancing" became a thing.


In true #NeverSayDie SA-style, a lot of us got creative (had/still have an epic #Meals4Musos programme that my mate @baasdebeer and I were gonna launch), a lot of my muso mates started live streaming, I collab'd with others to offer discounted (albeit attendance-limited) home parties etc. ... these are all great ideas and WILL see the light of day... _but unfortunately not just yet_.

The last year or so I've been so focused on opening my BB Bistros (which is a good thing... and I can't wait to get back to that after lock-down)... but that meant that my social media and blogging had to take a back seat.

Outside Windows_thumb.JPG

Now that we're actually in a full on lock-down here in SA, we've all had to make peace with it (please folks... remember to STAY HOME)... and there's actually even a silver lining or two.

A Time to (re)focus

Now that it's literally illegal to move around as freely as we'd like, all of my genius (imho), plans have been put on hold :-(
... BUT... the upside is that I get to focus on a few things hanging around on my TODO list for months, even years, now.

My main focus for the next 3 weeks is:

1) My Website - http://BraaiBoy.co.za/

I (halfheartedly) started a mission to revamp my blog the beginning of this year ("New year, New me" bullshit that we all fall prey to every New Year :rolls_eyes:), never got around to it, but now that's actually gonna happen in the next 2 weeks (so please bookmark it, and don't judge me... yet):

  • It needs a new "coat of paint",
  • my shopping cart is dysfunctional (and mostly empty),
    -- I'm sitting with tons of merch ideas that never got off the ground #WatchThisSpace,
  • I haven't loaded any new recipes in about 2 years (although I've occasionally still been posting on Steem, and from now on Hive, and YouTube)
  • ... and the list goes on.

2) Introduce SA to crypto/blockchain

... and none of this "Invest in my Bitcoin Pyramid Scheme" bullshit either!

a) I want to introduce everyone in South Africa to get paid for their social posts through "blockchain blogging" (I just made that up & will think of something cooler later)

In short: Just like YouTube etc., you're NOT gonna get rich unless you work REALLY hard and hit a luck, but unlike Youtube etc., You will make a few coins for every 'like' that you get... The real benefit though lies in it's decentralised nature (but's a topic for a blog post on its own).
Check out Hive (https://hive.io/) and a cool front-end for it (http://peakd.com) if you can't wait for me to hold your hand through it all in the coming weeks.


just 1 of the logo ideas ;-)

b) My very own crypto-coin (it's called a BRAAIB)

It's a pegged coin, so no 'investment'/speculation or get-rich-quick stuff... I'm about "nearly done" with that :P, and will hopefully be sharing that with all of you REAL soon.

Basically though: 1 BRAAIB = 1 x 500ml BraaiBoy draught beer at all my Bistros. You'll also be able to trade them on Steem-Engine (and Hive-Engine when that launches), trade them for other services/products (think upvotes/reblogs)... and another 100 other uses I have planned for the coin... but for now think of it as a loyalty programme to redeem free food/drinks at BB Bistro.

BTW: Technically it's a token not a blockchain/coin on it's own... but more on that in the coming weeks ;-)

P.S. If you're reading this and wanna get started on @hiveio for free and without all the hand-holding, hit me up (@BraaiBoy) on pretty much all the major social media platforms, or head over to http://braaiboy.co.za/contact-braaiboy/ ... I think/hope the contact form works, but my WhatsApp number is also there in the footer ;-)

3) Get social on social media again

I also (halfheartedly again) promised myself I would get more active on social media this year (but literally haven't even loaded all my profiles onto my phone :face_palm:
... in my defense, I lost like 4 phones in less than a year, so it became quite tiresome :P.

Well... we've got nothing else to do over the next 21 days (and probably longer)... so I can finally get all those issues sorted too.

4) FINALLY sort out my lapa

GASP!!!!
OK... so it's looking even worse than when I started... but I'll get there. ;-)

I'm publicly shaming myself for this mess right now, forcing myself into an real effort to make some changes... please feel free to call me out if I haven't made progress by this time next week ;-)

Stay Tuned and/or connect for the 1st time

What are you doing during the Corona lock-down? CAN you work from home? (Re)watching tons of Netflix series'? Doing some housework? Starting a new business? Masturbating excessively?

This very bad thing that's happening to the world could/SHOULD prove to be a great opportunity... assuming of course I can convince the bank to let me keep my house & businesses after all the installments have bounced :crossed_fingers:

P.S. If you made it this far and you're still reading, you deserve a reward! Drop me a comment below and I'll hook you up with some BRAAIBs.
*12 BRAAIBs (a dozen lagers) split equally between everyone that comments and RTs/shares on FB & Twitter).

Keep in touch (online), and I look forward to braaing up a storm with all of you again soon.

#HeeltydSpeeltyd
\m/

Sort:  

We can't stay in lockdown forever, #Meals4Musos will become a thing!

... now we just need to hope they don't extend the lock-down beyond the 21 days 😟

Hole that everything goes well with you during this lock-down! Here in Mexico we are also applying social distance but things have not escalated as bad as in other countries yet... We are using this time to post in HIVE.

Hey man,

Yeah... it's tough going (business wise)... but otherwise we're generally doing well in terms of Corona here in SA.

Videos already circulating of the army beating down on those assholes that won't adhere to the lock-down... and TONS of new memes coming out... that's how we deal with bad news in SA... we make jokes about it :P

P.S. Check your Steem-Engine account in a few minutes... decided you get a bonus BRAAIB for being the first to comment ;-)

P.S. You won't be able to do anything with it for a few weeks/months though (unless you come visit us in SA), but hang on to it... I'll make it usable by non-SA folk son enough.

Hey! Thanks! I'll hang on to it!