Day 68 of lockdown.... I'm the birthday girl!!

in #lifestyle β€’ 4 years ago

Day 68 of lockdown.... And.... My birthday... πŸ₯° What a novel way to celebrate.... No party, no going out to a nice restaurant, going for a picnic or even a braai with friends. Well, it would seem that at least I don't have to share my cake.. πŸ˜‚ Apparently today I can have my cake and eat it.

6t6yw1.jpg

7ho9gl.jpg

Not that they are terribly exciting.. πŸ˜‚ Still no electricity in the kitchen, so still no oven. So all the cakes look the same having had to use the same bread pan in the slow cooker. It's the only one that fits.

I'm blessed to have hubby home for the first time in many years. Happy that the Xman's still home but really missing the girl-child lots today!!! Not much planned seeing that it's lockdown but determined to have a good time in anyway. β€œDo all the good you can, for all the people you can, in all the ways you can, as long as you can.” β€” Hillary Clinton

The Goodnight post

Day 68.....it's been a long long day but I dare say, a good one. 😊Not the best photo down below, hubby's hair shaved to an inch of its life to clean the wound on his head πŸ€• ....however.... check Peanut photo-bombing us. πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚
Photo above

It's been a special birthday for me, celebrating during lockdown. I missed my family so much and especially my daughter. It was my first birthday since I had her 20 odd years ago, that I didn't have her by my side.😐 These are incredibly uncertain times and I've accepted that it is what it is. Doesn't mean i missed her less. πŸ‘­

It was a day of laughter, plenty of spoils, can't tell everything as I might get into trouble. πŸ˜‚

Gifts, calls, drive by's... Messages and more. I even got a malva pudding from a friend.... Woo-hoo... A favorite dessert!! Anyway, I want to thank each and every one of you for making my lockdown birthday extraordinary. Posting here daily and interacting on this page has meant a lot for me during the past 10 weeks.

8zojsw.jpg

Hubby and the Xman made some pizza for supper and I polished off at least half a bottle of red wine 🍷.. πŸ˜‚

uzkl8m.jpg

Now for my cup of tea and bed. Hubby's already asleep. I'm so grateful the doctor gave him an all clear on his injuries this afternoon.

So on that note... Goodnight and sweet dreams everyone! πŸ’ž
www.karolien-thereslifeafterkids.com
All photos are my own

Sort: Β 

Belated birthday wishes! I just ran across your post, and am intrigued by the idea of baking a cake in a slow cooker. I've never tried it. I should. And I love the cat in your photo. I have cats, and really enjoy them. Except when they knock things off my desk, or walk on my keyboard, or stick their claws into me.

Hi there, thanks for stopping by to read and comment! Thank you for the birthday wishes too. 😚 About baking in the slow cooker... One's never too old to learn I suppose. In Afrikaans we have a saying... Nood leer bid... Which means when you have difficulties you start to pray/make a plan... πŸ˜‚ I can't tell you, i love that saying because it's so true. Thanks for the follow. I've followed back. Looking forward to sharing some more good ideas. Have a great day!

Happy birthday with best of wishes to you πŸ™‚

@joetunex thank you. Sorry for the late reply. It's been that kind of week. πŸ˜‚

☺ it's okay no worries