On the River with a Styrofoam Boat

in #lifestyle4 years ago (edited)

Boats....in short supply

image.png

Boats, of any kind, are in rather short supply around here in the Utah Valley. With remarkably large families, and a Covid quarantine that would tranquilize a large giant, we moms are all scrambling for fun things to do with our kids at any given point during the day or week.

Usually...that results in visiting a body of water. And in this case, little boats for families and kids are completely sold out of all the stores, outlest, sporting goods, and warehouses in the area. So I decided, what if I MADE one?

I didn't wanna use wood, or canvas, or a frame -- that was all too much work. So I decided to copy the idea of a "spray foam" boat like on youtube, only that was gunna cost me like $225 for the foam alone, to say nothing of having to frame it out with mesh. Again...too much work.

So I did what anyone would do. I purchased thick foam board insulation, cut it to the shape of a little boat, and glued it together with spray foam.

45 MINUTES OF...

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

DONE and DONE

image.png

NOW FOR THE FUN PART

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png