Refining My Argument Regarding Hive Bullying and @cryptofinally. I Was Not Fully Honest.

in #lifestyle4 years ago (edited)

YOU ARE A SPECIAL SNOWFLAKE

image.png

So I listened to my show from last week. Start to finish. I don't usually do that. It's an awkward thing to do. But I felt compelled to do so because a few friends of mine said I was being a bit hypocritical. I usually listen to my friends.

So I watched the video. And it's true. I think I should have taken a stronger stance about how people behaved toward @cryptofinally. And the fact is, she was treated terribly, and I am sad about it. I don't like to see ANYONE being treated badly, under any circumstance, for any reason. Not just for "optics" or "PR" reasons, but for human reasons.

Don't get me wrong. As informative and charming as her content was, @cryptofinally's blogging activity ultimately deserved a downvote for her lack of platform etiquette and sustainable activities in general. And I support that argument at length in the video here. I also do get the distinct feeling she deliberately provokes and incites drama for the purpose of ratings and views.

However, the downvote should have been enough to make that point. And leave it at that. I think I could have done a better job of pointing out that bullying and hateful behavior, especially in a ganged-up fashion, is not only not a productive or practical solution, but it is not something I am partial to and I do not condone it.

I do think we are better off with strong downvote and upvote capacities coming from investors like NGC, especially when they are used wisely. In my opinion, we would lose value in the platform if this were not put into place and used as it currently is. I think NGC made the right call by downvoting the gal, and I think he made the wrong call by bullying her with his words. And I think he knows it, and I think he is a person too, with complexities and parts and pieces that deserve praise as well, and hating him is no higher a law than being complicit to hate, nor does it solve anything. We all have a part to play.

I think we are on our way to great things, both in the platform and in general. And I look forward to seeing how we evolve as a community and as individuals.

image.png

Sort:  

I feel like there's a centralised mindset at play here. I like her, and wish her well; but she wanted to speak to the manager, and we don't have one.
If you don't get that, I'm not sure you really get crypto.
The patient and lovely @crimsonclad engaged with her on twitter, and it was brutal reading.
Crim was as committed to solving the problem, as Rachel was to having it.

100%

I have 100% the EXACT same experience with her. As did several other people.

Well shes powering down and leaving hopefully putting that HIVE in the hands of people who actually want to use it and hopped over to dLive so I guess everyone wins

I think the downvotes were enough for people to show their disapproval. The bullying will always be a stain on these people's Hive accounts. Sometimes when you don't have anything nice to say about someone you should just hold your tongue.