2021. Room Makeover

in #lifestyle3 years ago

This is something I have been wanting to do for quite some time now and I finally made my wish come true.


Spending most of 2020. at home really made me even more aware of how the space we spend a lot of time in can affect our mood, productivity and life in general. I find that I cannot properly function is my room is really messy so I did my best to keep it somewhat tidy. I also try to go through my stuff often and try not to bring too many new things but it's okay if my preferences change over time and something that was important for me I can easily let go or I find joy in owning something new (by that I mean new to me). With all that being said, I still couldn't fully enjoy my room as the furniture was a combination of wood and blue color and with four elements like that, it took a lot of space in my room and made it kind of 'loud'. It was just too busy on the eyes and that's what has been bothering me the most.


So with new year, I really wanted to do this makeover and bring new energy for 2021. into my space. I ordered this wardrobe mid January and it arrived on 26th. It has a decent amount of space for all my clothes and other stuff and I have been switching things up a few times, trying to figure out the best way to organize everything.


Now looking at these pictures, it looks quite messy but it's all organized in categories and I know where everything is. On the left shelves we have important documents and go-to things when I go out of the house on the top shelf(wallet, keys...), second shelf is for all the beauty stuff, third is jewelry and hair stuff, fourth is where I keep University books, Korean printed PDF's and a stack of plain white paper, bottom shelf is all my summer clothes. Middle is where I keep seasonal clothing and on that shelf in the back I have some clothes I separated for sewing machine practice and some clothes I want to alter, I also have some extra hangers and beach towels in the back. Drawers are for smaller pieces like underwear, socks, winter accessories, pj's, workout clothes and such. On the right shelving we have some random stuff on top, lounge wear on the second and seasonal clothing that is a little bit more fancy or I would wear for a night out (not getting much use at all) on the third shelf, then some boxes for storage and at the bottom I have spring jackets and a traveling backpack.


These shelf inserts on the left photo I had for a long time, my dad made them from some old furniture piece and luckily they fit in this wardrobe too. They really do come in handy and make more space as an extra shelf so I can store smaller things like these products or my jewelry. I like to keep things that fall into the same category together and make sure I can see everything nicely. On the right photo I have this bar cart which is a bit random but it was stored in the attic, not being used and I didn't want to spend more money on furniture so I tried to use what we already had. If it wasn't for the plants, I would probably go with something a lot smaller or nothing at all. I will probably change the middle shelf and lift it as this look really bothers me so that's one of those small thing I have to put on my to-do list.


Smaller table was also something I have found around the house and it stores my makeup, mini speaker, a mirror and a basket where I keep my laptop charger. Trash can is not looking pretty at all but it's what works for now. Bigger, brown table is an old piece that used to be under my window as home for plants but now turned into my desk. Area above the desk looks really empty so I have been thinking about putting some shelves and eventually getting rid off one of the tables but we'll see. There is also that annoying corner in my room packed with bags of clothes I need to donate, recycle or get rid off in some way. That will also leave me a little bit more space to work with.


There's still few things I would like to change and this is definitely not a completed makeover but the most important part is done and I feel so much better now with this new space. I hope that, as time goes by, I will be able to reduce the amount of my stuff and make more open space in my room. I will keep you updated! Thanks for checking out this post! :)


banner.png