You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's the worst thing that has ever happened to you as a person?

in #lifestyle5 years ago

I can think of a lot of difficult things I have faced in life. I agree with you that defining something as "worse" may not be the best idea. And I agree that there is something to learn from every life experience.

One of the most recent challenging times I faced was moving back to the States after having lived in Indonesia for more than 10 years. My wife and I moved there as a couple and we came back with 5 kiddos. Indonesia was there home. It was the place that held most of their memories. It was a place that my wife and I had learned to love deeply.

When we came back, we experienced severe reverse culture shock. I fell into depression and for a while just struggled to have joy. Not only did we lose our friends and home, but I also lost my job. I realized that I had placed a lot of focus of who I was as a person in that job.

Then I found Steem (free therapy as I create content) and found a new job. Had another kiddo (our first son). Life is still challenging, but I have grown. My faith has been stretched. It has not been a fun ride for the last 3 years or so, but I believe it has been the right journey for my family and me.

Thank you for opening up about your journey. I hope you are in a good place now. Blessing to you and great success for the future.

Keep Steeming!