"Hive is a centralised shitcoin parading as decentralised. It's all smoke and mirrors bro." - 3j2009 on Nostr


This is a value for value post: see the explanation in the footer.

Note: I'm setting aside 5% of the rewards on this post to send as a Zap on Nostr to the idiot pleb. I will make it very clear to him that these funds are direct from a "centralised shitcoin" and he can turn them down if he wishes.


Another gem from my discussions on Nostr

I got a genuine enquiry about where content and curation rewards on Hive come from to which I replied with a reasonable answer.

image.png

You can see the full chain here.

Some further answers were not so polite and despite myself, I couldn't help but answer this cretin:

image.png

Thank you for the hours of study you clearly put into that opinion! I presume you run a Bitcoin full node and a Lightning node yourself?

I will quickly shut down the witness node I run ranked 50th which pays me about sats 750,000 per month. Clearly those funds when converted to sats are an illusion and the multiple Bitcoins I’ve collected in cold storage over the last 4 years from working within Hive will evaporate at some point.

BTW my witness ranking comes because real people with a combined investment in Hive of 153,884,113,642 sats (1,538.84 BTC) from 220 individual accounts have voted for me. I’ve only been a witness for 4 months but the years I spent doing useful stuff on Hive built my reputation to a point that when I started a witness I picked up votes quite quickly.

Perhaps I should refuse the 133,000 sats per DAY the DAO pays me to run the various other services. This comes to me because people vote for my proposal in a similar way to the witnes position.

I’ll stop posting on Hive (where I typically make 166,000 sats per post or more, funnily enough someone gave me a single tip of 71,000 sats in addition to the payout I’ll get in 7 days).

This is what happens when a core protocol includes value exchange AND instead of giving all inflation to hardware operators, some of it goes elsewhere for things like dev work or content.

I just checked, my Lightning node made 95,000 sats routing last month. A high water mark for me. 26,000 sats is my monthly average over the last year. I presume you run a Bitcoin full node and a Lightning node yourself?

I’m glad you’re all so excited about 20 sat tips here. Have fun stacking those and building geek play things.

Once again I’ve written more than I should in response to an excessively dumb comment….. I’ll post it on Hive and earn 150k sats :-)


Value for Value

For the last few months while building @v4vapp I was generously supported by the DHF. Going forward I have a much more modest support which covers direct server costs and a little of my time.

If you appreciate the work I do on and around Hive, you can express this directly: upvoting posts on Hive is great. Also consider a direct donation (there's a Tip button on Hive or a Lightning Address) on all my posts.

Support Proposal 244 on PeakD
Support Proposal 244 with Hivesigner
Support Proposal 244 on Ecency
Vote for Brianoflondon's Witness KeyChain or HiveSigner


Send Lightning to Me!

image.png

Sort:  

I realize that this is a by-product of your work alongside Lightning on Bitcoin, but a space for Bitcoin Maximalists should be seen as infertile ground for discussing or raising awareness of Hive.

To convince a Bitcoin Maximalist of the value of Hive, you first have to go to great effort to de-convert them out of their existing belief set that comes with the modern Bitcoin maxi package. Bitcoin maximalism comes with a whole host of dogmatic ideas that help to "protect" them from the scary prospect of other cryptos ("shitcoins") possibly having value or a genuine point.

It's a similar thing with crypto skeptics. I generally find crypto skeptics these days get more stuff right about crypto than crypto people do, but they're also so convinced that all crypto are garbage scams that they're not open to the possibility of any actually having a substantive case. A bitcoin maximalist is just one coin away from a no-coiner.

In the meantime there are millions of people around the world who could be open to learning about Hive, the ideas behind it, and not only that but for whom there is potential to make a difference personally in their real life, beyond just making a speculative bet on something getting adopted or the token price going up for whatever reason (which in practice is all crypto is to most people).

I don't set out to spend a huge deal of time on them. Developing good arguments and explanations is always useful to sharpen skills.

Yeah I gave up on discussing anything with maxis, since they're just another cult, not interested in competition. They're ultimately monopolists, just parading behind a different flag

While Bitcoin is great. Bitcoin maximalism is extremism and extremism is bad.

Just because you own a Ferrari doesn't mean every other car it bad.

Is that also true for a Lambo? smirk

I don't think flexing your earnings was the right strategy, tho.

You're right to point this out and I don't make a big deal out of earnings very often but there are occasions when the context supports it.

I'm making the point on Nostr that the layer 1 BTC which they worship doesn't have any rewards for dev or content or anything but using energy and running esoteric hardware.

Nostr is completly without rewards in the protocol. That never ends well.

Where are the tips coming from on that place?

!PIZZA

They all send each other tiny transfers of sats most of which are so small they aren't worth the electricity and disk space consumed in processing them....

That doesn't seem like a very productive way to spend time... do they have any incentive to do it?

!LUV

i think that was a setup for the shitcoin is financing the development from a decentralized dao controlled by community, bitcoin is financed by VC and charity from bitcoin whales. (think Nostr was financed by Jack Dorsey)

How did i miss that you are also a witness. I just read your posts and i quickly went to peakd to vote for you. The input you put into Hive is outstanding !

I didn't make a huge song and dance about it, but every vote is appreciated.

You educated him nicely!

It's kinda Good to see these Dumb question or claims like "it is a scam" "Centralized" coming.. in the end they're going to recognize hive once they have cleared all misconceptions. Well done and respect!

Thanks for taking the time to reply that guy, that's the absolute clarification he needed, I don't know why some people are blindedsided by their sentiment.

https://leofinance.io/threads/@seckorama/re-leothreads-2yaotj3vr
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( seckorama ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Well done on educating that idiot! At least now that you posted it on hive, it is forever part of history.

Ser....Your patience and tolerance for the maxis is remarkable. You truly are a gem! lol

Sorry for the unnecessary admin as no need to come up with a snappy, sharp reply at all.

I only really wanted to say

😆

👆🏼

Also

🤣😂😆

p.s. busy reading up on the case actually, but found this en route to comment on that.

So glad I did!

Also

🤣

The person expresses a genuine concern, but in an extremely unpleasant way. I'm not sure you addressed their concern directly though. The person seems to have come out with the conclusion that 17 people can control the chain.

Yes, that's a finer point which he doesn't get and which I probably can't get across to a closed mind. The 17 are ELECTED and can be un-voted pretty quickly if any of them show signs of wanting to do something bad or that they've been taken over.

We know this, getting others to see it is very hard but I'll try to include this when I answer the question in future.

This is the answer I was looking for as well, in part. He also makes the point that stronger votes come from users with more voting power. To my understanding, if there's one whale who holds an extremely large amount of voting power compared to other users, they can influence the witnesses in their favor. I also understand that there's an upper limit to much Hive Power one can hold at a time, but let's say someone buys in to that max right now and takes advantage of it to vote for witnesses that would do his bidding. How would that type of scenario be resolved to avoid a Justin Sun recap?

I ask this because if this can be avoided, then this is true decentralization; I'm just not aware of the mechanism.

The more one learns about the characters of the more active whales around here, the idea that anyone of them or an external force could organize a truly significant share of the voting power to take over, is not very likely at all.

Based on what I've seen here over the past few months, I do agree that our current whales are protective of Hive. However, is there an actual mechanism in place to prevent something like this from happening in the future? You never know who will come in or when. It already happened with the ... steamy version of the platform.

Having the protective mechanism in place is vital. As long as there is one, then it's set in stone and nobody can argue with the fact of decentralization, rather than stay reliant on "not very likely at all," a.k.a. Living on a Prayer. 😉

P.S. I say this as someone who is now quite literally very invested in Hive and will not be leaving in the foreseeable future.

First and foremost the 1 month delay between powering up and votes counting for governance was put in place specifically to provide options if we notice an unknown and potentially hostile force creeping up on us. I'd say this now makes us "Slippery when Wet" 😜.

The other point is that with fork of Steemit's Ninja-mine stake equivalent and Justin Sun's stake equivalent was put into the DHF which nobody can vote with. That took away by far the largest single point of control.

Anyone trying to take over Hive in the same way will be buying Hive off the open market or trying to do OTC deals with some pretty committed whales. Good luck asking Dan to sell his stake.

We're always looking to strengthen our defenses and we don't take anything for granted, but many of us do think about this stuff.

Excellent. This is what I was looking for. Two concrete non-human mechanisms to help avoid a hostile takeover: a delayed vote + an untouchable stake. The third factor is important, but still has a touch of variability attached due to the imminent human factor.

For the first case (1 month delay of votes and noticing a potential attempt at a takeover), who would have the power to change things, in time, before a takeover happens? We don't want a "Runaway" situation. 😉

I'd say this now makes us "Slippery when Wet" 😜

Love it lol.

There is no point in debating a religious fanatic (that is what they are). For them, anything other than Bitcoin is a scam. Actually, 75% of the block production for Bitcoin is controlled by only 4 mining pools...talk about centralization. They will argue that each pool represents thousands of miners but, in reality, only the pool operators determine which transactions go into each block...so there's that.

https://www.blockchain.com/explorer/charts/pools

That sounds like a disinfected, well-burned victim of another project.

Stupid people are everywhere and this is an extreme example of that. You cannot understand a blockchain just by reading few lines here and there and I am just tired of such shallow people, simply empty shells with a big mouth.

The BTC Maxi cult makes gold bugs look slightly less..delusional, and that's mainly targeted at the people who believe a Gold Standard 2.0 is even possible.

What a chump ! His loss is our gain ! Glad he is not here !

Once again I’ve written more than I should in response to an excessively dumb comment….. I’ll post it on Hive and earn 150k sats :-)

Haha. Definitely the cream of the crop.
People tend to FUD against a system that didn't work for them due to certain factors, quite understandably.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

the nostr people are OK

but it will be interesting how everything will run in the future - expecially completely without incentives..

well, they also aim to establish a good decentralized social media protocol..
a protocol doesnt necessarily need a blockchain or a token..

still - incentives are key in our world..

I got a genuine enquiry about where content and curation rewards on Hive come from to which I replied with a reasonable answer.

I remember when I first signed up, I still didn't really understand much beyond the basics of crypto. Despite being interested, and having an amazing mentor, I was just too new. I tried to find out the answer to that exact question :) ... and this whole thing just reminded me of an onboarding idea I still need to type up 😂

Note: I'm setting aside 5% of the rewards on this post to send as a Zap on Nostr to the idiot pleb.

He doesn't deserve even 0.5%

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

These guys all have to ASK for their rewards. Neither of them have.

Good, they really aren't deserving...

Nobody asked...

Probably too proud 😂

!PIZZA

Far too proud! I think they left 25k sats in my pocket.

🤣 like I said, they never deserved it!

!ALIVE


~~~ embed:1647346946829434881 twitter metadata:Mjc3MDY0MzZ8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vMjc3MDY0MzYvc3RhdHVzLzE2NDczNDY5NDY4Mjk0MzQ4ODF8 ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @v4vapp, @seckorama ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

There are such people all over the world who still do not understand this technology and whenever they speak, they speak wrongly about it. When no one owns this technology, then how can people control it so people get into it.

The dude really don't know about the platform and he should just keep quite rather than ranting.

Bildschirmfoto zu 2023-04-15 18-41-54.png
This is completely twisted and wrong!
It would be correct like this:

"There's always a shitcoiner claiming to help the unfortunate... people in Cuba and Venezuela can just use shitcoin without paying to convert into (insert Bitcoin here)"

No one is forced to buy Hive or HBD.
It's right, I buy Hive and HBD with fiat money. But only to increase my influence, my vote and my curation rewards. Anyone can easily use Hive without buying.

Alles gute

They can't get it into their head that 80% of my traffic is INTO BTC.

I think these 'maximalist' shittalkers will get left behind eventually. I get that BTC is the OG of crypto, but things move on and not everyone can buy lots. My stake is worth more than 1 BTC, but none of it is Bitcoin. It's mostly earned.

What is it with calling people 'bro'? I've seen 'cryptobro' used as a derogatory term on other platforms.

Feel free to keep on winding up the zealots.

image.png

Jake and Elwood are the ultimate bros.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@wrestlingdesires(7/15) tipped @brianoflondon (x2)

Talking about Hive on alternative platforms is an exercise that often seems to highlight ignorance, as well as opinions backed by nothing except a personal bias or view. On very few occasions are these "views" objective, or based on any knowledge/understanding. That's just the way people are...