"Can You Count The 'NED's?" - A Limerick

in #limerickcontest7 years ago (edited)

"It was all kind of fuzzy, as if his mind was doing its thinking in limericks." - Sorin Suciu

I love limericks, simply because they are fun.

Imagine my delight when @writing-trail's new limerick contest was announced.

One of the constraints of this week's challenge is to end the first line with the word "NED." I decided I would make this poetry challenge even more fun for myself, and so I added a couple of constraints for myself.

I wanted to see if I could end every line with "NED."

Then I threw in a few more "NED"s just for the fun of it.

Enjoy!

Can't See The Forest for the Trees?

Can't See The Forest for the Trees?
Photo courtesy of Martins Zemlickis and http://unsplash.com

Here's my first entry

in @writing-trail's "WRITE A LIMERICK" contest:


"Can You Count The 'NED's?"

Learned Ned, poet, maintained,
that his vic’try was surely ordained.
“What I've penned is renowned!”
But he remained uncrowned
when an A/I the honor attained.


Seriously, can you count the "NED"s in my limerick? Please leave your answer in the comments below... 😉


IMPORTANT NOTE: In the new HF18 Steemit economy with a longer-period reward pool, I really need you, my faithful readers and followers to "go back" and see what you may have missed. YOUR "LATE" UPVOTES NOW COUNT!

If you enjoyed this, you might also like all my entries:

"Can You Count The 'NED's?"
"...But He Drowned"
"Flaunter Jane"

Please do visit, enjoy, and up vote my previous posts! These days, it matters! ;)


~FIN~


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Well done dear friend @creatr very creative, congratulations.
greetings to family

I found nine - it is amazing how they can hide those little critters!
That is fun.
Being fully compliant with the letter of the scansion ... for the birds sometimes.
Thanks for taking part my friend
Namaste.

Thanks for a fun contest!

I'm being surprised by comments showing up out of sequence ... Must be the tinkering they've been doing with HF17 and HF18! :) :D

Hmm somone explayn me today last word of 1 line must be ned :)

"Learned Ned, poet, maintaiNED," <- The end of the first line is indeed "NED."

10 with the title, 9 without...very clever!!!!!!

Thanks! 😉