Linux Commands - Basics 1

in #linux6 years ago

Hi everyone.
I am a big linux fan since 15 years. Started with embedded devices like my router.
Today I wanna talk about some basic linux commands, since from my experience its hard to find all these in the beginning.

I will start with some real obvious commands so dont feel to bored if you are a experienced linux guy.

"ls" - this will show you all contents of a folder.
"ps axf" - this will show you all currently running processes, just like task manager in windows
"top" - similar like "ps" but with live updates and CPU,MEM usage
"df" - show mounted drives and show free space
"ifconfig" or "ip a" - show network devices and IPs
"cat filename" will output contents of a file to the terminal
"cp" - copy file
"mv" - move or rename file
"scp" - copy file over ssh, very useful for transferring files between 2 mashines

if people are interested I can explain commands more detailed.
I will show some commands more in depth in the future.

Hope you liked this brief introduction. If you wanna get started with linux i would recommend to start with a distro like Debian, its well documented and is not to exotic.

Sort:  

On one computer I have Manjaro (Arch based) but I wanted to try something Debian based and without Ubuntu. I tried MX Linux and I'm really impressed.
Linux beginner here, not a pro ;-)